Archive | 7:55 pm

breakfast love

13 Nov

*Note-remember how I said how busy I would be this November and that I probably wouldn’t have time to post?  Well, I think it’s obvious due to the actual amount of my posts this month that I underestimated my tendency to get distracted during the last few weeks of class (Flickr has been a particular culprit).

Breakfast is by far my most favourite meal of the day.  I actually look forward to mornings because that means I can prepare my usual breakfast of choice, a steamy bowl of oatmeal.  I love steel-cut oats but I always had a problem of making it look, well pretty.  My oatmeal would always cook as a rather uniform, gloopy mess.  It would taste good but because of the presentation I could never blog about it. 

Last week, lolo and celine both blogged about very delicious looking bowls of oatmeal.  So I decided to try lolo’s method.  I did make some changes, halving the recipe and going with the ingredients I had on hand, I decided to make Banana Spice Oatmeal. I added cloves and nutmeg, only used a tiny amount of earth balance, used brown rice syrup for the sweetner and Vanilla Silk for the soymilk.  If you take a look at the picture I think it’s safe to say I finally conquered the act of making a bowl of oatmeal attractive (not to toot my own horn or anything).  Look!  It’s creamy and not sticky!