breakfast love

13 Nov

*Note-remember how I said how busy I would be this November and that I probably wouldn’t have time to post?  Well, I think it’s obvious due to the actual amount of my posts this month that I underestimated my tendency to get distracted during the last few weeks of class (Flickr has been a particular culprit).

Breakfast is by far my most favourite meal of the day.  I actually look forward to mornings because that means I can prepare my usual breakfast of choice, a steamy bowl of oatmeal.  I love steel-cut oats but I always had a problem of making it look, well pretty.  My oatmeal would always cook as a rather uniform, gloopy mess.  It would taste good but because of the presentation I could never blog about it. 

Last week, lolo and celine both blogged about very delicious looking bowls of oatmeal.  So I decided to try lolo’s method.  I did make some changes, halving the recipe and going with the ingredients I had on hand, I decided to make Banana Spice Oatmeal. I added cloves and nutmeg, only used a tiny amount of earth balance, used brown rice syrup for the sweetner and Vanilla Silk for the soymilk.  If you take a look at the picture I think it’s safe to say I finally conquered the act of making a bowl of oatmeal attractive (not to toot my own horn or anything).  Look!  It’s creamy and not sticky! 

9 Responses to “breakfast love”

  1. Hilary November 14, 2007 at 12:09 am #

    yay! I agree, I’ve wanted to post about oatmeal before, but it’s not the most photogenic looking food. you did a great job. it looks dang good.

  2. Harry November 14, 2007 at 12:14 am #

    This article has made me sooo hungry! I totally agree that breakfast is very important, although I would usually go for something basic like a bowl of cheerios and a couple of pieces of toast with butter/marmite/jam/peanut butter. And of course a nice cup of tea! I have never really got been big on oats, always found them a bit boring, but I must say that picture does do them wonders. I might even try a bowl tomorrow instead of my cheerios! 😀 x

  3. VeggieGirl November 14, 2007 at 6:09 pm #

    Ash, you have DEFINITELY done oatmeal justice with this stunning photograph!! I always shy away from photographing one of my favorite meals/foods (oatmeal) since it usually doesn’t look too pretty. I’ve only featured 2 oatmeal photographs on my blog; but your photo makes me want to take them down, haha.

  4. ashmacaroon November 14, 2007 at 7:34 pm #

    Aw, you’re all totally making my head inflated with all your compliments on my pretty oatmeal.

    Harry-Oats, boring? Pfft, no way! You can do so much with oatmeal, the possibilities are endless! You better give them another chance! 😉

  5. Cassie Young November 16, 2007 at 7:28 pm #

    I agree with Hilary that you did a great job! It looks delicious, Ash. I love steel cut oats and I, too, posted pumpkin steel cut oats at the beginning of the month. My picture is not nearly as nice as yours though. The consistency of your oats look exactly the way I like it too and with the banana and sweet spices… now that’s my kind of breakfast!

  6. Liz² November 22, 2007 at 10:02 pm #

    yes! oatmeal!! 😮 !!

    http://bulletsoflove.blogspot.com/2007/11/date-jeweled-oatmeal.html

    I love steel cut, too, though flakes are still my favourite. I stirred leftover pumpkin pie mix into a batch once and went to heaven. yours looks SO photogenic! oatmeal not being too photogenic in general, no (but taaaaasty).

    k, I’m an oatmeal freak. : D

  7. ashmacaroon November 23, 2007 at 8:35 am #

    OMG Liz, I adore that bowl your oatmeal sits in!

    I love pumpkin pie oatmeal too, SO good.

  8. A Passage to Veganism May 21, 2008 at 1:19 am #

    I start my day with a big bowl of oats, with varying ingredients, banana, cinnamon, molasses, strawberries, LSA, etc… though I do think the serving size has gradually just got bigger and bigger. I’m all warm and snuggly just thinking about oatmeal!

    Also, thank you for your idea inspiring blog, shall be cooking a tofu quiche tonight after my stomach saw your entry!
    Adelle

  9. A Passage to Veganism May 21, 2008 at 1:25 am #

    Meeep sorry, I meant your mac & cheese entry… I had just viewed a different blogger and so tofu quiche must have been on my subconscious mind !
    All the best x

Leave a Reply

