Cracking open Veganomicon…

4 Nov

I would like to sincerely thank everyone who gave their condolences regarding Rascal.  My family and I miss him very much and your kind words of understanding and remorse mean so much to us.  Thank you.

I got Veganomicon in the mail almost two weeks ago (I think, I may have to check on that) and only had to time to awe at its vastness.  Yesterday, I decided to try out a recipe (and it wasn’t a cookie, can you believe it?!).  I tried the Udon with Shiitake Mushrooms and Kale with Miso Broth.  I love mushrooms, I love kale, and I adore miso so this recipe was in no way going to disapoint me. 

And disappoint me it did not.  I loved its simplicity, you could really appreciate all of the ingredients, nothing was overpowering y’know?  I had it with Eden’s Kamut Udon noodles, it was quite good, I love pasta and if it’s healthy that’s even better. 

There has been much talk about VeganMoFo around the blogging world and I want to participate so bad!  But, alas, November will be my busiest month class-wise so I definitely won’t have time to blog everyday.  (I might not even have time to eat!)  Oh well, I hope I can at least make time to read all the wonderful blogs who are participating, and there’s always next year.

5 Responses to “Cracking open Veganomicon…”

  1. Celine November 4, 2007 at 12:28 pm #

    I’ll definitely have to try that one! sorry to hear you will be too busy to take part in the VeganMoFo deal.

  2. VeggieGirl November 4, 2007 at 12:47 pm #

    “I love mushrooms, I love kale, and I adore miso so this recipe was in no way going to disapoint me.” wow, we definitely have the same palate then Ash, haha. Now I know which recipe to DEFINITELY try, in Veganomicon (I too received my copy about 2 weeks ago, but it’s hard to choose a “starting recipe,” with so many options!!)

    don’t worry about not having time to participate in the VeganMoFo daily posting; but DO make sure that you have time to eat!!

  3. ashmacaroon November 4, 2007 at 4:31 pm #

    We’re soulmates, VeggieGirl! 😉

    You know…the more I think of it, the more I want to take up the challenge of participating in VeganMoFo! It’s probably a tad crazy of me to even consider it but I always love a challenge.

  4. Vegan_Noodle November 7, 2007 at 2:04 pm #

    Just because you can’t post everyday, doesn’t mean you can’t be a part of VeganMoFo!! I think it’s just posting about food as much as you can 🙂

    Those noodles look soooo good, I want to eat five of those bowls.. I don’t call myself vegan noodle for nothing.

  5. Cassie Young November 8, 2007 at 11:55 am #

    I have got to get that book!! This looks and incredibly good, Ash. Wish I had a bowl of it right now!

Leave a comment