Spritz Cookies

29 Oct

spritz

What to do when you’re in the middle of your craziest week yet? Bake cookies and try out your new cookie press!

I opted for very seasonal cute little pumpkins with orange sprinkles and simply veganized a recipe found in the The Joy of Cooking.  And my first trip into cookie press territory was a success although I did admittedly have trouble at first but once I figured it all out, it was pretty simple and fun!   A nice break from the studying I’ve been drowning in lately. 

Spritz Cookies

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup Earth Balance Shortening
1/2 cup soy yogurt
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350F.

1.  Cream together the sugar and shortening.
2.  Add the soy yogurt and vanilla, beat to combine.
3.  Sift in the flour and salt and cream until dough forms.
4.  Place dough into cookie press and press cookies onto ungreased cookie sheet.
5.  Bake for about 10 minutes until lightly browned.

12 Responses to “Spritz Cookies”

  1. amey October 29, 2008 at 10:36 pm #

    so cute.
    oh dear, I got a cookie press a couple of years ago, but somehow the 1 cup of Earth Balance in ALL cookie press recipes has me less enthusiastic. So I never use it. Maybe it’s time for me to experiment!

  2. Tofufreak October 29, 2008 at 10:51 pm #

    gorgeous! these look great 😀

  3. bex October 29, 2008 at 11:38 pm #

    I used to love playing with the cookie press when I was a kid. I need to get me one of those.

  4. VeggieGirl October 30, 2008 at 7:59 am #

    CUTE!

  5. Bianca- Vegan Crunk October 30, 2008 at 2:14 pm #

    How festive! I have a cookie press but I’ve no idea how to use it!

  6. mihl October 30, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    They look adorable!

  7. Celine October 31, 2008 at 4:04 am #

    isn’t that cookie’s name the best? spritz! I could say it all day. and eat it too. the cookie, not the name.

  8. Stefanie B. October 31, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    I love spritz!! We made hundreds of them every christmas. Thank you for sharing these- I have never thought about them for halloween, mmm…. they sound so good!

    I always bake when I am most busy. In college I was always most popular during finals due to all the baked goods in my house

  9. melisser November 3, 2008 at 5:13 am #

    Yes! My mom always makes Spritz cookies for Xmas & I think this year I will as well.

  10. Erin November 4, 2008 at 3:08 pm #

    How did you know I just bought a cookie spritzer?! 🙂

  11. missmarieblog November 8, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    I love spritz cookies. I don’t think I have a pumpkin thing though. So cute!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. If you only eat one Christmas cookie this holiday season… « I Love Things That Are Great - December 23, 2008

    […] Anyway, I hope you like these cookies as much as I do.  Here’s a couple of pages where you can find the recipes:  chocolate spritz  multiple recipes     for my vegan friends […]

Leave a comment