Archive | 5:29 pm

VeganMofo: It Starts

1 Oct

It’s here!  It’s here!  (Remember The Simpsons episode when Homer is ridiculously excited when Frank Grimes arrives for dinner?  This is me right now.)

As I mentioned in my last post, I am participating in this year’s VeganMofo, a month-long celebration of vegan food. There are tons of vegan bloggers writing this year, you can check them all out here at the VeganMofo RSS Feed. I have a bunch of posts lined up, vegan cookbook reviews, restaurant reviews, general musings on vegan food…that I’m all really excited about.  There is such a wide variety of bloggers this year but above all, we are all writing with the aim of proving to the world that vegans don’t survive off of limp salads and plain tofu.  We like to eat too, damnit!

Maybe you’re new to my blog having just discovered it from the RSS Feed so let me introduce myself (actually to be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever introduced myself on here!). I’m Ashley, I’m a third year sociology major, studying in my hometown of Halifax, Nova Scotia. I became vegan in May of 2006 and haven’t looked back since. Since becoming vegan, I have learned two of my present day passions 1)cooking and baking and 2) photography. I started this blog just over a year ago and I’ve aimed to write this blog reflecting this and I’ve really enjoyed sharing my experiences of a vegan lifestyle.  But the past few months I have been slacking so I’m hoping VeganMofo will kick my neglecting habits.

And since I hate posting sans photo, I turned 20 a couple weeks ago and here’s a photo of my wonderful Chocolate and Peanut Butter ‘cheese’cake (thanks, Mom!  <3) provided by the Heartwood Bakery here in Halifax.

20!

Happy blogging everyone!