Archive | 8:55 pm

VeganMofo: Halifax

8 Oct

town clock

Since becoming vegan, one of the most common things that I find that people comment is that it must be very hard to eat out.  But the truth is, it isn’t really.  At least not where I live.  I thought it would be fun to list my favourite eating spots here in Halifax for veganmofo.

Heartwood Bakery & Cafe
6250 Quinpool Road
Website

This is probably my favourite place to eat out ever. The Heartwood’s an almost entirely vegan restaurant and not only is it delicious but it’s all totally great for you! Even the desserts! They don’t use any refined oils or sweetners and try to use mostly organic and local ingredients. My favourite dishes include their Cajun Tofu dish and for dessert, a slice of Coconut-Banana-Cashew pie, yum.

Dio Mio Gelato International Cafe
5670 Spring Garden Road

There are now two Dio Mios in the HRM, one on each side of the harbour! I love this place for their creamy dairy free sorbettos (mmm, coconut) and for my favourite sandwich in the world, a Roasted Tofu Tahni wrap (perfect baked tofu with an amazing tahini sauce). It’s the perfect lunch for when I’m on the go.

The Wooden Monkey
1685 Argyle Street
Website

Rumour has it when the Rolling Stones were here a couple years ago, they stopped in at the Wooden Monkey and Ronnie Wood fell in love with their Blueberry Pie. It’s understandable of course as I’m pretty sure it’s the best blueberry pie in the city.  Maybe even the country.  I mean we’re Nova Scotians so we know our blueberries. You may remember me talking about on here before, in March for my mother’s birthday. They also make pretty good entrees too, like their Seitan Sandwich and Rice Bowl.

Halifax Farmer’s Market
1496 Lower Water Street (Keith’s Brewery Market)
Saturday Mornings 7am to 1pm
Website

Not for the claustophobic, the Halifax Farmer’s market held in the historic Keith’s Brewery Market, is a mecca for fresh produce, homemade goods and lots of stuff to please us vegans. I love the market, I don’t always get down there saturday mornings though because I’m usually working. But when I do go, I stock up on whole grain buns, date squares and other healthy baked goods from Big Life; tofu and other soy products from Acadiana; tea from the Tea Brewery and of course an array of organic and local produce. The Brewery is kind of maze like, ha ha, so it can be a bit tricky to maneauver around, I think I end up discovering something new everytime I’m down there.

This is just a few of the places a vegan can eat around this city, there are lots that I have yet to try but have heard great things about. Maybe I can slowly build a master guide to Halifax on this blog, ha ha.  If you’re ever happen to find yourself in Halifax (because you know, it’s on the top of everyone’s travel list), look me up and I’ll buy you to a sorbetto.