Archive | 5:43 pm

VeganMofo: A Seasonable Supper

3 Oct

When I got off of work this afternoon, I realized that fall really is upon us.  It was a beautiful clear day with a wonderful crisp breeze and it left me craving some good fall food.  Fall is my favourite time of year for produce, apples, kale, sweet potatoes, pumpkins and of course winter squash. 

Stuffed Squash

Quinoa Stuffed Squash from baking sheet.

1 acorn or carnival squash
1/4 cup quinoa
1/2 cup water
1 tbsp maple syrup
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup dried sour cherries [I used raisins]

Preheat oven to 350F.
Cut squash in half and place face down in a oven proof baking dish. Add a bit of water to prevent it from sticking. Bake for 30 minutes.
Meanwhile, combine quinoa and 1/2 cup water in a small sauce pan. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook until water is absorbed, about 10-15 minutes.
Stir in maple syrup, cinnamon, salt and dried cherries. Set aside until the squash is ready.
Remove squash from the oven and turn cut side up. Divide quinoa mixture evenly between the squash. Cover the squash tightly with foil and return to the oven and bake for 20 more minutes, until squash is tender and ready to eat!

For supper, I whipped up this simple (almost ridiculously so) recipe, an acorn squash stuffed with a slightly sweet quinoa filling.  Delicious and nourishing.  Now that we’re heading into the cooler months, I have plans for a lot more fall-inspired recipes, soup, casseroles, pies…you know the hearty and homey stuff.

Well it’s the weekend!  I’ll be spending it working and studying for mid-terms, it will be a blast I’m sure.  I’m not sure if I’ll have time to blog…I think the guidelines for VeganMofo is to blog every weekday anyway…but we’ll see, you might hear from by me Sunday!