Archive | 11:41 pm

Christmas Eatin’

25 Dec

Hope everyone had a great and relaxing (ha ha right?) holiday!   Mine was spent with my family and consisted of many memorable-in a good way!-moments.  It was also filled with delectable food…particularly of the sugar variety.

Peanut Butter Balls

I made these Peanut Butter Balls on Christmas Eve and I found that they were quite addictive.  For the cookie crumbs I called for, I just processed rice crispies-type cereal and used them.  Instead of swirling the chocolate on the balls, I dipped them in to the chocolate for an even more decadent touch (hey, it’s the holidays, we’re supposed to splurge).

I also made Softly Spiced Nuts  and Roasted Red Pepper and Almond Hummus from Eat, Drink and be Vegan.  They were both perfect appetizers. I think next time I’ll add some cumin to the nuts to increase the heat factor though the flavouring was lovely anyway.  The hummus was also tasty (although I seem to have a vinegar sensitivity, when I can detect it I find it’s taste overpowering so I’ll decrease it next time), I have been enjoying it very much on toast.

Gingerbread Apple Pie 

And finally, the grand finale, I served Gingerbread Apple Pie from Vegan with a Vengeance for dessert on Christmas Day dessert.  It was a huge hit, it’s spiced perfectly and is so simple to make (I despise rolling out pie crust).  The photo shown is it prior to baking as out of the oven the edges were a tad burnt.  Next time (and they’ll definitely be a next time), I’ll add foil to the edges to combat that (although I always say this when I bake a pie yet I never seem to remember).

So the big day’s finally over, hope Santa was good to you (he was extremely generous at my house)!

 PS-Despite the fact I work retail and therefore heard it constantly, I will miss the Christmas music.