Archive | 1:59 pm

Cinnamon Swirl Loaf

12 Dec

I’ve mentioned my mother’s Cinnamon Quick Bread here before and I was hoping to veganize it and relive its wonderfulness.  I could not find the recipe my mother always used so I searched around the internet to find one that was to my liking.  As I recall frequently enjoying the bread on snow days and today was a snow-ish day, I thought that today would be the perfect day to try it out.  I found one and made quite a few changes.

Cinnamon Swirl Loaf

1 cup soymilk
1 tbs apple cider vinegar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup canola oil
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 soy yogurt (I used So Nice’s Orginal)

For the Cinnamon-Sugar Mixture:
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tbs cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a loaf pan.

1.  In a small bowl, combine the soymilk and the apple cider vinegar.  Set aside so it gets all nice and curdly.
2.  In another small bowl, make the cinnamon-sugar combining the cinnamon and brown sugar with a fork.
3.  In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.
4.  In a separate large bowl, beat together the canola oil, sugar and soy yogurt.
5.  Add the flour mixture, along with the soymilk/vinegar to the sugar mixture in batches.  (I did this in three batches)
6.  Add a third of the batter to loaf pan and then sprinkle with the Cinnamon-Sugar.  Repeat this twice.
7.  Bake for 45-50 minutes until a toothpick or a knife is inserted into the loaf comes out clean.
8.  Cool and enjoy with a healthy dab of earth balance!

I really love the way it turned out!  It has a wonderful texture and is just as delicious as I remember it.  Next time, I’ll run a knife through the batter for more swirly goodness like my mother did with her bread.  But other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing, it’s perfect on a snowy day. 

Tomato-Rice Soup with Roasted Garlic and Navy Beans

12 Dec

Brrr.  My furnace quit this morning and it is a tad chilly.  I’m glad I made the Tomato-Rice Soup with Roasted Garlic and Navy Beans from Veganomicon last night so I have plenty of warm, comforting leftovers.  You know, I’ve been cooking almost exclusively from this book lately and I think it may be my favourite cookbook ever of all time, everything I’ve made has been stellar.

I have the day off work today so I’ll probably be spending this rather messy (snow/rain) day baking.  I’m thinking it (along with this soup) will help me stay warm.