Archive | 4:54 pm

More Christmas Cookies…

17 Dec

I believe that this is the third post in a row that features Christmas cookies (Edit-I checked, no it’s not).  Today is the Shortbread edition.

I love Shortbread cookies (it very well could be because of my heritage) and when I think of Christmas cookies these delicately textured and flavoured biscuits come to mind.  My mother made these cookies from a recipe borrowed from a co-worker a few years ago, and they were delicious buttery little mounds.  I haven’t had Shortbread since before going vegan and have been wanting to veganize this recipe for awhile now.  Shortbread recipes are simple (traditionally they are one part sugar, two parts butter and three parts flour, that’s it!) but fear of it resulting in a too-salty cookie (shortbread recipes always seem to call for unsalted butter and Earth Balance is well, quite salted) prevented me from any attempts.  Today I was feeling courageous and decided to give it a shot.

As you can see, I succeeded!  The Earth Balance was a fine replacement, I had no reason to question its purposiveness.  The cookies turned out just as I remembered (god I’ve been nostalgic lately!) and not all too-salty and with a wonderful melt-in-your mouth texture.

Shortbread Cookies

1 cup Earth Balance Buttery Sticks
1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
1/2 cup cornstarch
1 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease (or use parchement paper) a cookie sheet.

1.  Cream the Earth Balance and the sugar (I sifted the sugar into the earth balance to avoid those clumps typical of confectioner’s sugar) until just blended.
2.  Sift in the cornstarch and the flour and mix until well combined.
3.  Roll heaping teaspoonfuls of dough in to balls, drop on to sheet and flatten slightly into discs.
4.  Bake for 7-10 minutes, until the edges are just golden.

The edges of the cookies may turn a little wonky (mine did) because of the high fat content of shortbread.  So I just took a round cookie cutter and cut the baked cookies into circles to make perfect little cookies.  Top the cookies with a Maraschino cherry halve if you so desire for a festive look.   I got 16 (or 18?) cookies out of the deal.