Archive | 7:42 pm

Looking for a Last-Minute Gift?

22 Dec

Taking a break from the sugar high (well, almost) with an idea that I know my fellow bloggers would be able to put to use (with their endless supply of delicious recipes)…

I was stuck on what to give my youngest sister for Christmas this year.  I had already bought some clothes I knew she had wanted to give to her but it lacked a personal touch.  She has just started to get into baking, specifically cupcakes.  Vegan cupcakes.  So inspired by this I made her a Cupcake recipe booklet.  It not only contains recipe cards for various cupcakes but personal anecdotes accompanying each recipe (like the time I made her Pina Colada Cupcakes and accidentally melted her birthday cake is mentioned in the Pina Colada Cupcakes recipe). 

I happened to find the card completely by chance (isn’t it cute?), I wasn’t even looking for a cupcake card, just one with a pretty design, but when I saw this I knew it would be perfect.  I even (again without looking) was able to find a spatula and apron that completely matched the colours in the card.

I hope that this simple idea might be of assistance to you in these last frenzied hours before the big day.  This was a lot of fun to make, a gift that I would definitely make again, it’s fun to personalize recipes and give a gift that not only will definitely make the recepient smile (I know my sister found the melting birthday cake incident quite humorous as I have yet to live that one down) but keeps on giving (who doesn’t need a recipe for vegan sugary treats?).