Almond Butter Cookies

26 May

 

I have this HUGE jar of Almond Butter and there’s probably no way I’ll finish it before its expiration date.  At least that’s what I thought until I whipped these up this morning, I even (kind of) made up the recipe!  I say kind of because I derived it from a peanut butter cookie recipe (My favourite! From Vive le Vegan), but I feel that I derived it enough to call it my recipe.  I think they’re really good, creamy, almondy cookies.

Almond Butter Cookies
Makes 12 cookies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tbs sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup almond butter
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
3 tbs canola oil

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease a cookie sheet.
2.  Sift flour, baking powder, and baking soda.  Stir in the sugar and salt.
3.  In a separate bowl, combine the peanut butter with the maple syrup and extracts.  Stir in the oil.
4.  Add the dry mix to the wet mix until well combined. 
5.  Place tablespoon-fuls of dough on cookie sheets.  Bake for 7-8 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool on racks.

Close-up of the crinkly goodness…

9 Responses to “Almond Butter Cookies”

  1. cherie May 26, 2007 at 5:00 pm #

    those look mouth-watering good! really moist? i want some!

  2. ashmacaroon May 26, 2007 at 5:35 pm #

    Thanks! I was surprised how well they turned out, they had this wonderful melt-in-your-mouth-peanut-butter-cookie feel. 🙂

  3. Celine May 27, 2007 at 1:41 am #

    ah yes. yes, this is another recipe I’m adding to my ever growing to do list.

  4. Tamara May 27, 2007 at 3:52 am #

    Wow, what a great idea! I’m going to have to try these for sure. Just found your blog tonight and love it! Your photographs are awesome. Thanks!

  5. Mihl May 27, 2007 at 7:37 am #

    These look so good I could faint. It’s a shame that almond butter is so expensive where I live.

  6. ashmacaroon May 27, 2007 at 11:20 am #

    Oh my, you’re all making me blush! Hope you like them!

    Mihl-That sucks, have you ever tried making your own almond butter? I haven’t but I’ve seen it done and the results looked really good!

  7. Diana July 4, 2008 at 2:10 pm #

    I used whole wheat flour, and they turned out perfectly! Thanks so much.

  8. laura June 18, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    Looking for a way to use a huge jar of almond butter my mom bought me. Quite pleased with how these turned out! I used wheat flour and they taste almost healthy… but definitely satisfy my sweet tooth!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. daveavenue » Almond Butter Vegan Cookie Game Night Blues - February 4, 2009

    […] The triple convergence of a hangover, snowflakes, and a game of Sequence warranted a batch of homemade cookies. I had sung the praise of baked vegan goods earlier in the week to John. I meant to make traditional blonde cookies but we were out of eggs, so I opted for vegan Almond Butter Cookies […]

Leave a comment