Chunky Monkey Brownies

14 Jun

One of my favourite past-times is flicking through magazines.  My favourites are often in the range of home design and cooking, as I’ll always find inspiration from what colour I should paint the bedroom (we’re in the pre-renovation stages, I’m so excited!) or to what to cook for supper.  One of my favourite publications is one that is popular with vegans, Veg News, is always full of recipes that I mean to try (and do try, like that delicious Mac ‘n’ Cheeze I made not too long ago). In the May + June issue there was a column on dessert featuring a recipe for Chunky Monkey Brownies which instantly captured my attention.

Chunky Monkey Bars

These bars, albeit have an almost too-cutesy name, are chock full chocolate, banana chips, cashews (except not mine, I used walnuts instead) and coconut, lots of crunch layered on a thin yet fudgy and satisfying brownie. After taking these babies out of the oven I was a little sceptical as they appeared to have sunken a tiny bit but after waiting for them to cool, I sampled one and was not disappointed. These were everything I could hope for in a dessert bar, rich, chocolatey but with their addition of tropical goodness, they have a lot more depth than your average square. These have to be shared so since this issue’s supply is dwindling on the store shelves, I’m going to post the recipe for all those who were not able to read this article (maybe you don’t have access or maybe you haven’t given Veg News a try yet, why not? I think this recipe would push you do so).

Chunky Monkey Bars

Chunky Monkey Brownies by Beverly Lynn Bennet
Originally published in the May + June 2008 issue of Veg News

3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup safflower oil [I used canola]
1/4 cup water
1 tsp vanilla
2/3 cup whole-wheat pastry flour
2/3 cup cocoa powder
4 tsp arrowroot
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/3 cup dried banana chips, coarsely chopped
1/3 cup chocolate chips, coarsely chopped
2 tbs dried coconut, shredded

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly oil a 9-inch square pan [I used an 8 inch) and set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, stir together sugar, oil, water and vanilla. Sift in flour, cocoa powder, arrowroot, baking powder and salt. Stir well to combine.

3. Pour batter into prepared pan. Evenly scatter banana chips, chocolate chips, cashews and coconut over top and press gently with hands into the batter.

4. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until set in the centre. Allow brownies to cool completely before cutting into nine squares.
1/4 cup cashews, coarsely chopped [I used walnuts]

Chunky Monkey Bars

27 Responses to “Chunky Monkey Brownies”

  1. Celine June 14, 2008 at 5:41 pm #

    I still haven’t gotten around to making these sticky maple things you made me crave a while back, and you’re hitting me with something equally appealing. bad Ash, bad.

  2. Ashley June 14, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    Ahh, you just reminded me of those! I need those again…maybe its maple-ness would be perfect Canada Day?

  3. VeggieGirl June 14, 2008 at 6:20 pm #

    I too love flipping through magazines (which is why I subscribe to over 20 magazines – yes, OVER 20!! I know, it’s a crazy addiction, haha).

    Those Chunky Monkey Brownies look beyond delicious, oh my goodness.

  4. Ashley June 14, 2008 at 6:22 pm #

    20?! You’re living my dream life, Liz!

  5. Kristy June 14, 2008 at 11:26 pm #

    Thanks for posting the recipe, it looks great and I’m pretty sure you can’t get vegnews in Australia 😦

  6. melisser June 15, 2008 at 12:01 am #

    Mmm, they looks so good! I’m the worst about making recipes from magazines, even though they look good.

  7. BitterSweet June 15, 2008 at 9:17 pm #

    VegNews is great! And no, I’m not the least bit biased over here… 😉

  8. Bianca-Vegan Crunk June 16, 2008 at 1:31 am #

    Yum! I’ve seen that recipe, but your pictures make it seem way more appealing. It’s so nice to see things actually prepared.

  9. Vegan_Noodle June 16, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    Mmm, I need to go dig out this issue and start baking!!

  10. veganhomemade June 17, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    These look so good! I always read VegNews then put it on the shelf with the rest and forget there are tasty recipes I need to make.

  11. destinyskitchen June 18, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe! They look nutty & good.

  12. meghan June 19, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    that looks so delicious and chocolately! YUM!

  13. Pamela June 23, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    These were so good! I skipped the banana chips and used pecans because that’s what I had. I took these to work and all the omnis loved them! I will be posting on my blog shortly (this blog and original author credited, of course).

  14. Wannabe June 23, 2008 at 11:03 pm #

    Noooommmmmm…these look so good. I’m going to make these to share on Thursday knit with my knitting group. Do you think I can use regular whole wheat or unbleached all purpose flour? That’s what I have on hand.

  15. heather June 24, 2008 at 9:29 pm #

    I’m making these now but didn’t have banana chips. I guess that defeats the purpose of the chunky *monkey* but they looked so damn good that I couldn’t resist. They smell good!

  16. heather June 24, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    OMGGGGG these are amazing. Thanks so much for posting them! They’re almost devoured not even 20 minutes after coming out of the oven. I put 4 on a plate for a co-worker who has been having a bad week.

  17. Vivacious Vegan June 25, 2008 at 9:42 pm #

    These look like they would make perfect “bring to the office and wow everyone with your awesome veganess” brownies. I’ll make these next week and let you know how it goes.

  18. Ashley Nicole June 27, 2008 at 10:09 am #

    I saw that recipe and I have no clue why I never made it, because I loooove brownies!! These look so delicious. I’m just going to have to make them now!

  19. Kumudha June 27, 2008 at 5:06 pm #

    Brownies look delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  20. love, tastespotting June 29, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    looks DELICIOUS…and would LOVE to see this resubmitted to TasteSpotting, cropped to a perfect 250×250 square….the cropper cut it off too far left…

  21. The Voracious Vegan June 30, 2008 at 7:07 am #

    WOW! Those look intense and absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing.

  22. Wheeler's Frozen Desserts June 30, 2008 at 3:47 pm #

    Wow these look sooo good. Yum!

  23. twoveganboys June 30, 2008 at 6:27 pm #

    Hi

    I made these brownies over the weekend, thanks to stumlbing across your blog. Holy moly! They were great. Thanks for posting the recipe and the picture.

    Krys
    http://www.twoveganboys.wordpress.com

  24. Liz² July 1, 2008 at 11:29 am #

    oh. my . goodness. WOW. this is precisely why I can’t be looking at food blogs on a fast! so evil and delicious looking!

  25. Brook July 1, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    mmm… that looks perfect for mi marido when he goes for some fieldwork! thank you!!!

    by the way, i moved my blog to http://stoniebrook.blogspot.com!

  26. Lisa July 1, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

    Thanks a lot for posting the recipe! Those were the first vegan brownies my mum and friends really liked! They even wanted more! Wow …

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. inspiration. « on the table - July 3, 2008

    […] [lovelikeavegan] recent sweet treats, my sweet tooth is alive and kicking! I’ve made the Chunky Monkey brownies (which were featured in VegNews) and I’ve got a list of Celine’s recipes I need to try. […]

Leave a comment