Happy Canada Day!

1 Jul

It’s nearing the end of my five day vacation and today (day 4) I finally got to soak in a bit of sunshine.  I seriously think I’m cursed sometimes as days 1, 2 and 3 were all overcast and rainy.  Oh well, I have one more break in August so *hopefully* I’ll be enjoying sunny bliss then.  Anyways, Happy Birthday Canada!  The big 1-4-1!  Awz, you’re growing up so fast.

How did I celebrate?  By eating of course!  The other day my mom and I spied a roadside fruit stand (definitely one of my favourite sights of summer) and purchased a flat of strawberries.  That’s a lot of strawberries.  I think after this weekend I’m all strawberried out.  We ended up freezing a lot of them (yay smoothies!) and today I used them in a special Canada Day Dessert.  But first, here’s what I made from breakfast this morning:

Canada Day Brunch

Waffles! I used the recipe I always use and as usual they went over very well with my family.

I wasn’t sure what to make for dessert. I was playing with the idea of baking a cake but then after the arrival of the flat of strawberries I knew exactly what to make. It has been a tradition to have Strawberry Shortcake on Canada Day in my family for as long as I can remember. I’m not sure why, could it be that the red and white colouring is a demonstration of national pride? Or is it that strawberries are always conveinently in season and my family just really really loves these sweet little berries? It’s probably the latter but whatever the reason, I made Strawberry Shortcake today.

Strawberry Shortcake

This turned out to be one of my most proudest accomplishments in the kitchen. The one you see in the photo above wasn’t the most prettiest one (I always serve everyone else first then I photograph mine and it takes awhile sometimes so the whipped topping got a little melty) so this probably just sounds silly but whatever I’m damn proud of the presentation of this dessert. So how did I do it? First I baked up my favourite biscuit recipe (make these biscuits, you will thank me), mashed up 2 pints (maybe pints? you know, the little baskets) of berries with a little bit of sugar and made a coconut cream whipped topping (chill a can of coconut, scoop off the cream that formed at the top then whip it with a couple tablespoons of icing sugar). Then to put it all together, I just split a biscuit, scooped some of the strawberry mixture over one half then some of the whipped topping, place the other half over it all (strawberry sandwich!), spoon more strawberry filling on top, then whipped topping and finish with a single whole strawberry on top.  There, a simple yet totally fancy dessert fit for only the most awesome country in the world (ha! just kidding.  kinda).
 

18 Responses to “Happy Canada Day!”

  1. Bea July 1, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    Oh, your shortcake looks so good! I love the coconut cream idea, I must try it sometime!

  2. VeggieGirl July 1, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    Oh man, you definitely had the most delectable Canada Day eats, hands down.

  3. Vegetation July 1, 2008 at 11:59 pm #

    Mmmmm strawberry shortcake? YES PLEASE!

  4. Celine July 2, 2008 at 2:44 am #

    lovelovelove both of these. happy Canada day to you!

  5. Clare July 2, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    Can you believe I just had my first waffle two days ago? Nobody told me what I was missing. I have to try these ones. Happy Canada Day

  6. Sanja July 2, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    Oh, that Strawberry Shortcake looks amazing – I want some!

  7. Ashley July 2, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    Thanks everyone, hope you had a wonderful Canada Day as well (whether or not you celebrate it!) and best wishes for the coming long weekend for you Americans!

  8. BitterSweet July 3, 2008 at 12:14 am #

    Happy belated Canada Day! That’s one holiday I’ve never celebrated, but based on all that tasty food, I sure wish I did!

  9. Animal-Friendly July 3, 2008 at 1:00 am #

    That strawberry shortcake sounds awesome! I’m sure that the coconut milk made a great topping for it.

  10. melisser July 3, 2008 at 2:39 am #

    Happy Canada Day! I’d gladly eat that strawberry shortcake any time!

  11. Ashley Nicole July 3, 2008 at 12:26 pm #

    That strawberry shortcake is blowing my mind right now with all it’s deliciouslookingness. Happy Belated Canada Day!

  12. tofuwitch July 3, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    That strawberry shortcakes looks to die for. I’m so wishing I would have done that with my fresh berries earlier this season. Strawberry season is over here, and though I have frozen ones, they wouldn’t be as yummy with shortcake.

  13. meghan July 4, 2008 at 7:30 am #

    this post made me crave strawberry shortcake… it looks phenomenal!

  14. Liz² July 4, 2008 at 10:48 pm #

    Yay! I’m so glad somebody celebrated Canada Day right! (I had club soda with lime in it… oooh…. at a bar, though!)

    strawberry shortcake is SOOO canadian, at least the colours, and it totally has to be made with biscuits, I’m with you.

  15. destinyskitchen July 5, 2008 at 1:20 am #

    Happy Canada Day! Your strawberry shortcake looks magical.

  16. The Voracious Vegan July 6, 2008 at 1:46 am #

    Oh my! Both your waffles and your strawberry shortcake look stunning! Strawberries are the best, aren’t they?

  17. Samantha July 6, 2008 at 3:06 pm #

    YUM! I never thought to whip up coconut cream, but now I must try it! That shortcake looks insanely good.

  18. Vivacious Vegan July 6, 2008 at 10:10 pm #

    Oh man, that strawberry shortcake looks incredible. I used to ask for it every year on my birthday instead of regular cake. I like the idea of using the coconut cream for a whipped cream substitute.

Leave a Reply

