Quiche!

13 Jun

I have never had a quiche before. From my knowledge of it, I know it’s some traditional egg pie thing that’s often served at brunch. Yeah. So after becoming vegan, I had no desire to make a vegan version. But when Isa posted about her recent potluck experience, sharing a photo of this delicious looking Classic Broccoli Quiche, I decided I had to give this quiche thing a try.

Classic Broccoli Quiche

Using Celine’s super awesome Pie Crust recipe (I used Whole Wheat Pastry flour and it turned out wonderful), I whipped this up yesterday afternoon to have for supper (I don’t really do savoury in the morning). It tasted delicious with its creamy texture and its delectable aroma. It also made a wonderful lunch today at room temperature, the flavours really shone through after they had more time to settle in.

So I am now a Quiche convert, and can’t wait to give this recipe another try with an array of variations (smoked tofu perhaps? mushrooms? fresh herbs?).

8 Responses to “Quiche!”

  1. VeggieGirl June 13, 2008 at 6:43 pm #

    Gorgeous!!! Definitely try a version with mushrooms AND fresh herbs (basil, for sure).

  2. Ashley June 13, 2008 at 9:00 pm #

    Thanks! I cannot wait for fresh herbs from the garden! I need a basil plant still though, my efforts from seeds never seem to get very far.

  3. Cyn June 14, 2008 at 1:46 am #

    I just made this quiche too! Yours looks gorgeous.

  4. Celine June 14, 2008 at 4:09 am #

    can’t wait to try it.

  5. melisser June 14, 2008 at 4:54 pm #

    Ooh, looks yummy!

  6. Emmie June 14, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    What a great looking quiche! I want to try it out too. Yum!

  7. Alice (in Veganland) June 15, 2008 at 7:27 am #

    Your quiche looks green are great (aren’t those words often the same?). I’m sure it made for a perfect cold lunch.

  8. Samantha June 15, 2008 at 5:58 pm #

    I love quiche. Yours looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

