Perfectly Fluffy & Flaky Biscuits

3 Sep

Someone over at the ppk mentioned these biscuits and just by seeing the picture that accompanied said testimony, I had to try the recipe out for myself.

These are hands down the best biscuits I have ever baked. They were perfect, with lots of flaky layers and were delicious slathered with earth balance. My dad, who always talks of his mother’s biscuits, stated that these biscuits were just like my grandmother’s. He also requests that I make them again very soon and often.

Biscuit Recipe

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tbs baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tbs sugar
1/3 cup shortening
1 cup soymilk

1. Preheat oven to 425C.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
3. Cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
4. Gradually, stir in soymilk until mixture pulls away from the bowl. (*I actually had to add about two and a half scoops of flour to get the dough to form to my liking)
5. Turn out onto a floured surface and knead the dough 15-20 times. (I didn’t actually count because I’m not that good at figuring out what exactly counts as “knead”, so I kneaded it until it looked right to me)
6. Pat dough to an one inch thickness, and cut dough using a biscuit cutter or a floured glass.
7. Place on baking sheet (the recipe stated ungreased but I’m really paranoid about stuff sticking so I lightly greased the sheet) and bake for about 15 minutes or until a nice light, golden brown.

Bonus pic of my lunch today.  A tomato sandwich made with Celine’s Pumpkin Whole Wheat Bread.  I was totally right, this bread does make an awesome sandwich.

11 Responses to “Perfectly Fluffy & Flaky Biscuits”

  1. Ron September 4, 2007 at 1:38 am #

    I just finished making these but I misread the recipe: I thought it said 1/4″ thickness 😦 I’ll try again tomorrow.

    By shortening, do you mean vegan margarine?

  2. Celine September 4, 2007 at 1:47 am #

    can’t wait to try these biscuits, thanks for the link and recipe, Ash!

  3. Ron September 4, 2007 at 1:55 am #

    I just ate two of mine and thought, ‘this taste is familiar!’

    In Australia we call these scones. Here is just one of the many recipes around:

    http://www.abc.net.au/queensland/stories/s1579082.htm

    Every Aussie’s mum and grandmother has her favourite scone recipe. Once upon a time (perhaps they still do) they used to have scone-judging at fairs etc.

    One famous one was this one for pumpkin scones:

    http://www.abc.net.au/canberra/stories/s1165618.htm

  4. Ron September 4, 2007 at 1:56 am #

    I just posted a comment that had two links in it. It may have been caught by your spam trap.

  5. ashmacaroon September 4, 2007 at 8:34 am #

    Ron-Sorry they didn’t work out the first time! By shortening I mean vegetable shortening, it’s similar to margarine but has a higher fat content. I’m not sure what you have in Australia but here we have Crisco (which is full of hydrogenated stuff so I always stay away from that) and what I used, Earth Balance Shortening. If you can’t find it, I’m sure margarine might work, maybe decrease the salt a little? Let me know how they turn out! And a scone-judging contest, I’d love to be the judge of that! Thanks for the links, I love the sound of those pumpkin scones.

    Celine-You’re very welcome! I hope you love them as much as I did!

  6. VeggieGirl September 4, 2007 at 2:17 pm #

    this certainly does look like the best vegan biscuit recipe!! I LOVE the sandwich you made, using Celine’s ww pumpkin bread :0)

  7. Mihl September 4, 2007 at 3:16 pm #

    They look marvellous! Perfect comfort biscuits if you ask me:) Do you think whole wheat flour would ruin them too much?

  8. ashmacaroon September 4, 2007 at 4:40 pm #

    I’m not sure, Mihl, I was thinking about trying them with Whole Wheat Pastry Flour. Let me know if you try! I’d love to know if they can be health-ified!

    VeggieGirl-Thanks!

  9. stumptownvegans September 5, 2007 at 6:42 pm #

    beautiful photo! I love those biscuits too!

  10. michelle October 24, 2007 at 3:51 pm #

    Wow, I was a little skeptical of this at first, but these came out awesome. Absolutely perfect. Thanks for the recipe! We’ll never get the store-bought ones ever again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Canada Day! « love like a vegan - July 1, 2008

    […] I’m damn proud of the presentation of this dessert. So how did I do it? First I baked up my favourite biscuit recipe (make these biscuits, you will thank me), mashed up 2 pints (maybe pints? you know, the little […]

Leave a comment