Apple Butter

21 Oct

It was my goal this fall to make Apple Butter, just like it was my goal to make homemade jam this past summer.  (It never happened.)  Now, I have never even tasted apple butter before but for some reason I knew I had to make it.  So, yesterday, I was nursing a rather bad sinus infection (ewz) and was unable to tackle the many assignments, essays and test preparations I had set aside for this weekend.  So, I decided to accomplish something and made apple butter.

Now, this apple butter was not without its slight mishaps.  As I said, I was in a rather dazed state and when I went to the store for the needed ingredients, I bought figs instead of prunes that the recipe called for.  What was I thinking?!  But I had some dates at home so I decided to use them instead.  And, I forgot the apple cider but no worries I made a very quick, half-assed (I used mostly ground versions of the spices called for) and small batch using this recipe.

I found the original recipe over at the ppk forums.

 

 Apple Butter
yields 2 pints

3 lbs cookin apples
1 c. pitted dates (the original recipe called for prunes)
3 c. apple cider
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp allspice
2 tsp ground cloves

1.  Peel, core, and quarter apples.  Place apple slices, dates and apple cider in a large pot and bring to a boil. 
2.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes or so, until soft.
3.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
4.  Process apple/date mixture and spices in a food processor and blender until smooth.
5.  Pour and spread the mixture evenly into a 9 x 13 baking dish.
6.  Bake in centre of the oven for about an hour, stirring every so often, making sure to scrape down the sides.
7.  Once done (you can test for doneness by seeing if the butter is thick enough that it will stick to a plate or something upside down), ladle the butter into hot, sterilized jars, leaving 1/4 inch headspace, seal with lids and place in a boiling water bath for 5 minutes.
8.  Enjoy the fruits of your labour by slathering some apple butter on a piece of toast and savour the wonderful flavours of autumn.

9 Responses to “Apple Butter”

  1. VeggieGirl October 21, 2007 at 4:56 pm #

    despite your mishaps, I’d say you created quite a delectable apple-butter spread!! this looks fabulous, Ash!! If you make any extra batches, feel free to send me a jar ;0)

  2. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan October 22, 2007 at 12:37 am #

    looks beautiful!

  3. SuperWife October 23, 2007 at 2:43 pm #

    this looks soooo good! i want to try this… it’s just apples are SO expensive in alaska 😦 at least $2.49 a pound when they’re on sale.. blech! do you think it would still work okay if they were bruised and kind of mealy? i can get some cheap from the produce markdown bin maybe….

  4. ashmacaroon October 23, 2007 at 4:34 pm #

    Thanks all!

    SuperWife-I can’t say for certain buy I can’t see why it wouldn’t work! My apples were a bit overripe actually. Hope it works out for you!

  5. Cassie Young October 23, 2007 at 8:30 pm #

    Ash, your apple butter is beautiful! I have never made it with dried fruit before. Sounds like a great way to sweeten! Will have to try yours sometime, but probably not this year as we’re pretty well stocked at the moment. I made apple butter recently with 20 pounds of Okanagan apples and another batch with about 10 pounds of crabapples! We love the stuff! 🙂

  6. VeggieGirl October 27, 2007 at 11:32 am #

    yay! glad to see that the comment feature on my blog is working for you now! haha. I’ll be baking for Halloween, for sure – I baked cookies yesterday, and I’ll be baking muffins tomorrow. As I said, I’m addicted :0) What will YOU be baking for Halloween??

  7. stonielove October 27, 2007 at 4:43 pm #

    oh, i’m certainly making this soon! thank you very much for sharing your recipe!

  8. ashmacaroon October 27, 2007 at 8:52 pm #

    Cassie-I tried your apple butter cookies today, they were extremely tasty!

    VeggieGirl-I’m not sure if I’m going to have time to bake anything! I did bake apple butter cookies today from Cassie’s blog which were pretty good. Maybe I’ll find the time bake some muffins (not very Halloween-ish I know!) from ED&BV to bring for lunches next week. I think I’ll be living through the Halloween creations of my fellow bloggers instead though!

    stonielove-Your very welcome, let me know how it goes!

  9. Patrick October 30, 2007 at 12:54 pm #

    really really nice work you have here!!!!

    i had a post once about the same topic! see it here!

    http://www.patrickmontes.net/blog

    lets trade links if you want to.. just let me know!
    i’ll give you a stumble upon thumbs up for now!

Leave a comment