Blog Action Day! A Personal Reflection on Environmental Friendliness

15 Oct

action_468x60.jpg 

Blog Action Day

I have always been concerned about the environment but it wasn’t until the past couple years or so that I’ve really decided to do something about it.  In honour of Blog Action Day, I’ve decided to post some things that I have changed in my lifestyle to be more enviromentally friendly.  A personal reflection of sorts.  Now, a lot of these you’ve probably heard of but maybe you’re a student like me and think it’s too hard and expensive to be environmentally friendly well I’m here to tell you it’s not!  Small changes like these can make a huge difference.

  • I went vegan.  Now, I know a lot of my readers are vegan but if you’re not, don’t think I’m here to lecture or judge you.  I believe that veganism makes a huge contribution to the world around you and you know…World Go Vegan Days are right around the corner on October 26th to October 28th. 
  • I now use reusable bags when shopping, no more plastic for me!  Around here, it’s almost impossible not to use reusable bags as every grocery store now is offering them.  But, even after making the switch to these bags, I found that I was still using those annoying little plastic produce bags, what a waste.  So, I’ve been looking into these. Cute, huh?
  • In the past year I’ve started to really think about the produce I was purchasing, I started to buy mostly local fruits and vegetables.  At first, I thought that I’d be extremely limited but that is so not the case.  Why the other day, I got pumpkin, butternut squash, spaghetti squash, tomatoes, swiss chard, apples and pears!  All local and most of it was organic as well.
  • When the new school year was approaching I was at a loss as to what to use to take notes.  I was able to find environmentally friendly paper in the form of these beautiful notebooks.
  • If you’re in Halifax, check out P’lovers, it’s an environmental store in Park Lane Mall on Spring Garden Road.  They carry a ton of eco-friendly products (including those pretty notebooks above), resources-a huge collection of books and organic clothing.
  • I’ve also been on the prowl for awesome eco-friendly body products.  Last week, I made the discover of Eco Lips in the form of a wonderful, and bee-free, lip balm.  After checking out their website I found that they carry Eco Tints, I hope I can find them here somewhere.  I’ve also been liking Nature’s Gate Organics products, especially their Neroli Orange & Chocolate Mint Lotion w/ Ester-C, most amazing scent ever.

So, that’s a lot of the things I’ve been changing in my life to help the world around me.  But it’s only a start!  I’m always looking for eco-friendly tips, resources, products and I hope to discover more ideas on other blogs today. I also love the following green links…
green daily lj community
TreeHugger

With the holiday season approaching (and it’s approaching fast! Believe me, I work in retail), I am determined to have a green (eco-friendly I mean, I want snow!) Christmas so if you have any suggestions on how to make the holiday season an environmentally friendly one, give them to me!

10 Responses to “Blog Action Day! A Personal Reflection on Environmental Friendliness”

  1. Amber October 15, 2007 at 1:55 pm #

    Awesome! Here’s my post:

    http://www.myaimistrue.com/archives/2007/10/what_will_you_do.html

  2. Angela October 15, 2007 at 3:11 pm #

    Re: produce bags–you could always re-use the plastic produce bags you already have (rinsing them out/washing if need be) until they go kaput, if you don’t want to spend the money on the cloth produce bags. Just another option!

  3. Vegan_Noodle October 15, 2007 at 5:40 pm #

    I love your blog action day post!! I still have to post mine tonight 🙂 I am also looking for tips to have a green xmas….must do a google search or something.
    I’ll be interested to see how the reusable produce bags go. That’s my one weakness too…..

  4. VeggieGirl October 15, 2007 at 6:06 pm #

    incredible post for blog action day – I too have been using reusable shopping bags for groceries and environmentally-friendly paper; and going vegan certainly DOES make a difference in the environment – a positive one, at that :0)

  5. ashmacaroon October 16, 2007 at 7:56 pm #

    Thanks all!

    VeggieGirl! I always try to comment on your blog but it won’t let me. 😦

  6. VeggieGirl October 17, 2007 at 6:28 pm #

    oh no!! do you not have a blogger account? that may be why it won’t work :0(

  7. VeggieGirl October 17, 2007 at 6:45 pm #

    **UPDATE: Ash, I removed the anonymous-comment-blocker, just for you :0D

  8. ashmacaroon October 18, 2007 at 8:45 am #

    Awz, just for me? You’re the sweetest, VeggieGirl!

  9. superwife October 23, 2007 at 6:48 pm #

    I wish I would have known about blog action day! We have city water at my house, and no matter how many times you put it through a filter, the tap water is grossssss… we stopped buying bottled water and subscribed for water delivery. It’s just basically like an office watercooler at my house, and it’s great! They reuse the big blue bottles, and i set out the old ones to be taken away when I get a delivery of new ones! No more little plastic bottles for us!

  10. Bluebeetle(one) October 29, 2007 at 6:45 pm #

    Congrats you do a lot of things to reduce your impact on the Planet… that’s Great!

    We also re-use bags, buy local fruits.

    Bluebeetle(one).

Leave a Reply

