Orange Sesame Tofu

4 Sep

Adapted from this recipe.

I made this for supper tonight, it turned out quite tasty-tangy and crispy.

Orange Sesame Tofu

 1 Egg Replacer (like EnerG, I use a homemade one though)
1/8 cup cornstarch
1/8 cup sesame seeds
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 pound tofu
1/8 cup canola oil
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1 tbs soy sauce
1 tbs maple syrup
2 scallions, trimmed and thinly sliced

1.  In a large bowl, whisk together the egg replacer, cornstarch, sesame seeds, salt and pepper until well combined.  Add tofu to the bowl, and toss until well coated with the mixture.

2.  Heat the oil over medium-high heat in a large non-stick skillet.  When oil is hot enough, add tofu and cook until golden and crispy.  Flip, and cook the other side.  Transfer to a paper-towel lined plate to drain some of the excess oil.

3.  Wipe the oil off the skillet with a paper towel.  Add orange juice, soy sauce and maple syrup to skillet, and boil until mixture turns syrupy.  (I found that my mixture wasn’t turning syrupy enough to my liking so I added a tiny bit of the cornstarch mixture so a sauce would form)  Return the tofu to the skillet, and stir gently to coat the tofu with the sauce, about 1 minute.

20 Responses to “Orange Sesame Tofu”

  1. Celine September 5, 2007 at 12:17 am #

    you said the magic word: CRISPY! yummay!

  2. VeggieGirl September 5, 2007 at 3:17 pm #

    oooh, you did an EXCELLENT job adapting that shrimp recipe from Martha Stewart, into a delicious VEGAN dish!! yum!!

  3. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan September 5, 2007 at 11:05 pm #

    god, this looks good. i could eat that at least every week.

  4. ashmacaroon September 6, 2007 at 10:24 am #

    Thanks for the compliments, all!

  5. Katie September 6, 2007 at 6:30 pm #

    that looks delicious!

  6. dawn September 9, 2007 at 1:41 am #

    All of the food looks wonderful.

    Did you dip the tofu in the cornstarch mixture before frying?

  7. ashmacaroon September 9, 2007 at 9:26 am #

    Oops, I forgot to mention that part! Thanks for bringing it to my attention, dawn, I’ll update the recipe.

  8. melisser September 10, 2007 at 10:20 pm #

    I’m dying to make this!

  9. melisser September 18, 2007 at 6:37 pm #

    I made this & it was so so so good! I posted a bit about it here: http://theurbanhousewife.blogspot.com/2007/09/in-my-kitchen-recipe-roundup-mememememe.html

  10. ashmacaroon September 18, 2007 at 7:17 pm #

    That is so awesome, Melisser! I’m glad it worked out for you, yours looks absolutely delicious! 🙂

  11. heliumbaboon October 5, 2007 at 11:19 pm #

    Oh, man, this was really tasty. I made a couple substitutions & it still came out great. It’s a keeper.

  12. ashmacaroon October 6, 2007 at 9:26 am #

    Yay! I’m so happy to hear you liked it!

  13. brent January 3, 2008 at 12:39 am #

    Hey, can’t wait to make this recipe, was curious what do you use to make your homemade egg replacer?

  14. ashmacaroon January 3, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    Hey Brent, hope you like it!
    Here’s the recipe I use for a homemade Ener-g…

    1 c. potato starch
    3/4 c tapioca flour
    2 tsp baking powder

    Combine all the ingredients and store in an airtight container.
    To use:
    1 & 1/2 tsp powder + 2 tbs water= 1 egg

  15. brent January 4, 2008 at 1:06 am #

    Thanks! I’ll go ahead and whip it up right now ^_^

  16. brent January 4, 2008 at 1:24 am #

    Oops actually I have no tapioca powder is their anything I could substitute for this, and is it possible to substitute corn starch for potato starch? thanks.

  17. ashmacaroon January 4, 2008 at 6:11 pm #

    I don’t see why not, give it a try! As for tapioca flour…according to cook’s thesaurus, it can be substituted with cornstarch so perhaps maybe just use 1 & 1/2 tsp of cornstarch plus the water for the egg replacer? I haven’t tried this but I can’t see why it wouldn’t work. Good luck!

  18. brent January 5, 2008 at 1:49 am #

    Success! a beautiful experience 😛

  19. ashmacaroon January 5, 2008 at 12:09 pm #

    Congrats! Glad you liked it!

  20. City January 16, 2008 at 6:29 am #

    Hi there
    I found pics of this recipe on Melisser the Urban Housewifes page and I just had to try it. So I got the recipe of your blog and made it tonight. YUM!!! Even my meat loving husband loved it and wants it again 🙂 thanks for creating such a great dish
    City the NZ Cupcake Queen

Leave a comment