Vegan Mofo: Breakfast

23 Oct

I was doing so well!  But then I just stopped posting.  Now part of the reason was because I was in the middle of mid-term season but the other part was I was just blah on the food front.  Sorry!

But this post isn’t for excuses, it’s about breakfast.  I love breakfast, it’s easily my most favourite meal of the day.  That and brunch, which is still breakfast in my books.  But I often get stuck on breakfasts.  For example, all summer and most of September I was having a slice of ezekiel sprouted bread toasted with almond butter and banana slices.  EVERY morning.  And it took me a long time to get tired of it. 

Now I’m stuck on something new.  Well, technically it’s not new because it’s what I had for breakfast all last winter.  Oatmeal.  I looove oatmeal.  It has to be made with steel-cut oats though as I do not like mush for breakfast.

breakfast

This is the version of oatmeal I’ve been enjoying, Apple-Cinnamon, trying to use up the large surplus of apples we have from apple picking a couple of weeks ago.  It’s delicious and keeps me full until lunch.  What are your favourite versions of oatmeal?

Oh, and I’ve started another blog.  It’s not a food blog and I’m still not sure if I’m going to keep it yet so I won’t give you the link yet. 

I’ll try not to neglect this blog anymore, there are only 8 days left of Vegan Mofo!

14 Responses to “Vegan Mofo: Breakfast”

  1. VeggieGirl October 23, 2008 at 8:42 am #

    No worries!!! You’re a busy girl, and MoFo has to be put aside sometimes.

    I CAN’T GO ONE DAY WITHOUT OATMEAL!!! It ALWAYS has to be made with 1 large banana and some sort of nut-butter or seed-butter (my favorites = hazelnut-butter, almond-butter, pumpkin-seed-butter, and sunflower-seed-butter).

  2. Marlena October 23, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    I also love oatmeal! My favorite way to have it right now is with sugar, cinnamon, allspice and cardamom (an idea I picked up in India), with raisins and milk. MMmmmMMMmmm… I wish I could have some now.

    I also have some instant I keep here at work that has dried cranberries and flax seeds in it, I keep meaning to try something with those at home.

  3. mihl October 23, 2008 at 1:29 pm #

    This is the most beautiful oatmeal icture I’ve ever seen!

  4. Rebecca October 23, 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    I agree, that’s a gorgeous picture! I love eating pretty food, it takes less to enjoy it more;)

  5. Tofufreak October 23, 2008 at 7:55 pm #

    mmm… oatmeal!

    btw, i made your original version of the apple cake. it was really good and very well received by all of my omni teachers! 😀 thanks!

  6. Mandee October 23, 2008 at 8:03 pm #

    I’ve neglected VMoFo a bit too but s’all good, we all took part in it!

    And you’ve reminded me of my love for rice porridge in winter, mmmm.

  7. Nicole October 23, 2008 at 10:54 pm #

    Apple cinnamon oatmeal is my favorite!

  8. Celine October 23, 2008 at 11:55 pm #

    no reason to be sorry. you did absolutely well! only 8 days already? it seems like it just started yesterday.

  9. Erin October 24, 2008 at 8:42 am #

    Mmmm…I LOVE Apple Cinnamon ANYTHING! Also, pumpkin oats, blueberry oats, and ginger-peach oats, which I just posted a blog about!

    ~Erin @ “VATC”

  10. destinyskitchen October 24, 2008 at 7:26 pm #

    I love oatmeal with brown sugar & cinnamon, but haven’t made it in far too long! Your apple version looks fantastic & much healthier than mine. :o)

  11. melisser October 25, 2008 at 4:29 pm #

    I am a creature of habit with breakfast as well! I should try oatmeal, I need something more filling.

  12. Miss Marie October 26, 2008 at 11:54 pm #

    I’ve been oatmeal obsessed! Seriously, no breakfast has ever been more satisfying and I’m not hungry all day!

    My favorites are: pumpkin, apple pie (with shredded apples and cinnamon) and peanut butter cup! MMMMM

  13. fortheloveofguava October 27, 2008 at 6:27 pm #

    that looks a little like quinoa… mmm… I might need to try quinoa sweet…

  14. kapman October 28, 2008 at 2:10 am #

    This picture is amazing. I love oatmeal as well. Steel cut are the best. I never have the time for stove top cooking. I cook it in the microwave oven. I posted the instructions here:
    http://ellipz.com/?p=17

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

