Vegan Mofo: Hot Chocolate

13 Oct

Brrr. After an absolutely gorgeous weekend of sunny autumn weather, I woke up this morning and it was cold and wet. Oh well, it made for perfect weather for all the studying and reading I had to do today. It also made for perfect weather for a certain beverage: Hot Chocolate

Picture your ideal cold weather day. I bet you’re drinking hot chocolate in it, am I right? When we were kids, my sisters and I lived off of the instant stuff (and adding way more than the recommended tablespoon) on days that were blustery and cold. My sister even invented a practice of placing chocolate candies in hot chocolate (like those little chocolate bars we got on Halloween night) and letting them get all melty and making the drink extra chocolate-y. We liked our chocolate. Since becoming vegan, my hot chocolate days have dwindled as many of those instant hot chocolate mixes simply aren’t vegan and I never got around to making my own.

Hot Chocolate

Not too long ago, tofu for two featured a recipe for Hot Cocoa that sounded amazing-Hot Cocoa with Mint. I loooove chocolate and mint. So today, I decided to try it out. It was so simple to make (seriously why do those instant mixes exist?) and perfect complimented with a Sweet & Sara vegan marshmellow, yum. All it’s missing is a candy cane (and you’re all like ‘god ashley! You just had Thanksgiving, no mentioning Christmas yet, god what is wrong with you?’).

17 Responses to “Vegan Mofo: Hot Chocolate”

  1. Nicole October 13, 2008 at 6:25 pm #

    Perfect! I need this + a warm fire to curl up next to. Or something.

  2. Vegyogini October 13, 2008 at 7:06 pm #

    I love hot chocolate, too, and mint hot chocolate is definitely a favorite! I usually just heat up chocolate soy/almond/hemp milk, though. It works just as well.

  3. jess October 13, 2008 at 7:36 pm #

    yes, please. Chocolate and Mint is my lifeline.

  4. VeggieGirl October 13, 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    SUCH a classic – although I’m partial to Hot Carob 😉

  5. melisser October 13, 2008 at 8:32 pm #

    Oooh, yum! That marshmallow makes it even better!

  6. Miss Marie October 13, 2008 at 10:54 pm #

    We don’t have Thanksgiving for a month still so I’m definitely not allowed to think of peppermint yet. 😉

    That looks delicious though! I can’t wait for it to get cold down here! Thanks for sharing! Oh, where can I find a recipe for Sweet and Sara marshmallows?

  7. VancouverVegan October 13, 2008 at 11:10 pm #

    mmm hot chocolate, nothin’ like it!

    Where do you get Sweet and Sara marshmellows from? I’ve only seen them online (although I think I’ll be getting some next week care of the ppk swap…yay!!).

    I’ve got midterms this week and next and then the papers start! Let me know when would be a good time for you (even if in the distant future) and we’ll figure it out! Even if it’s a lunch/study break at Heartwood one day. Actually, yeah, that sounds like a great idea!

  8. bex October 13, 2008 at 11:12 pm #

    hot chocolate is the most perfect thing. I haven’t had a chocolate with marshmallow post vegan. I need it.

  9. Zoey October 14, 2008 at 1:54 am #

    Hi Ashley,

    Hot chocolate sounds amazing. If I wasn’t full from dinner I would be in the kitchen making this right now. I know how I am starting my day tomorrow- thank you!

  10. Anni October 14, 2008 at 2:45 am #

    How lovely, I’m glad you enjoyed the cocoa! I’d never heard of putting marshmallows in hot cocoa, but it makes perfect sense to me now…

  11. mihl October 14, 2008 at 7:49 am #

    Yum. The weather over hear also changes from warm and sunny to cold and wet. To be brepared I always have some hot drinks on hand.

  12. Ashley October 14, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    Hey everyone wondering about the marshmallows! I ordered them off of vegan essentials, they’re worth the splurge! 🙂

    Josey-I’ll let you know, lunch at Heartwood sounds awesome. 🙂

  13. Jeni Treehugger October 14, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    Mmmm Hot Chocolate ROCKS!!

  14. thewarningsign October 14, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    Exactly what I’ve been looking for! What replacements do you use for eggs if egg re placers aren’t available?

  15. Ashley October 14, 2008 at 3:05 pm #

    thewarningsign, I rarely use store-bought egg replacers, I always use soy yogurt, applesauce, flax seed and other ingredients to replace an egg in baking. Check out this link: http://www.theppk.com/veganbaking.html

  16. Bianca- Vegan Crunk October 14, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    Yum! I love homemade hot chocolate. You’re making me actually look forward to the cold days ahead…and I HATE cold!

  17. destinyskitchen October 15, 2008 at 7:31 pm #

    Hot chocolate is SO COMFORTING! I love it with a peppermint stick too. :o)

Leave a Reply

