VeganMofo: Plans for the Week

6 Oct

Cashew Ginger Tofu

Today was a busy day, class from 9 to 4, studying in the library and writing a mid-term in between and when I got home I realized I had nothing planned for dinner and was pretty low on groceries.  Just as I going to fix myself a bowl of cereal, I thought that maybe I should take a look in the fridge before I give up on a substantial supper.  I was able to scrape up a pretty good dinner in fact, roasted vegetables (squash, sweet potatoes, carrots and mushrooms), quinoa and leftover marinated baked tofu from last night.  Definitely better than a bowl of cereal.

What kind of meals do you prepare when you’re short on time?  The above photo isn’t a photo of todays supper, it’s just a typical meal I eat while I’m in school, some sort of baked tofu, a grain and steamed vegetables.  Do any of you plan your meals?  I’ve noticed that a lot of you mofo-ers post your weekly meal plans so this week I’m going to share mine.  I usually just choose a bunch of recipes, write down the ingredients I need, then once I get to the grocery store decide which recipes I’m in the mood for that week.

This week, I’m craving sweet potatoes, soups and other down-home comforting foods.  It’s going to be a busy week so I’m planning on sustaining myself with leftovers of these two recipes and the staple, go-to recipes (like baked tofu and the like).

  • Roasted Sweet Potato Soup and Curried Apples (Veganized of course)
  • Southern Bowl: Chipotle Black-eyed Peas with Maple Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Collard Greens (Can you believe I’ve never had collard greens?) from Get it Ripe.

And this weekend is a long weekend (four days off for me!) as it’s Thanksgiving up here so they will be lots of food to make but I’m going to talk about that in my special Thanksgiving post this weekend.

Oh!  And notice my super awesome new banner?  My sister, Alyssa made it just for me!  Thanks, ‘lyss, you rock.  ❤

10 Responses to “VeganMofo: Plans for the Week”

  1. Rebecca October 6, 2008 at 6:57 pm #

    hey! Cool banner, it looks great! And I love that picture, it looks very serene and sophisticated:]

  2. Lisa October 6, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    I love that you don’t use your busy school schedule as an excuse to eat crap. That photo *does* look sophisticated.

  3. VeggieGirl October 6, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    LOVE the new banner!!

    Haha, I’m craving sweet potatoes this week as well 🙂

    Hang in there with the busyness, Ash!!

  4. Tami October 6, 2008 at 8:46 pm #

    Nice banner…and Happy Thanksgiving to you! I’m already looking forward to your food post on that.

  5. Tofufreak October 6, 2008 at 10:00 pm #

    nice banner!

    i pretty much never plan my meals. they are often just repeats of the things i like (miso soup, sauteed veggies, etc.)

    the southern bowl sounds awesome 😀

  6. Zoey October 7, 2008 at 12:02 am #

    Hi Ashley,

    I like the new banner!

    I plan my menus out every week- otherwise I would get so caught up in the day that we would be eating sandwiches or cereal for dinner every night.

    I only go grocery shopping once a week, so I plan everything out the night before. It helps me to think about the week ahead (what night I will have extra time to be creative and when to plan for leftovers). I actually think it would be harder for me to stay vegan if I didn’t plan out a balanced menu each week.

  7. Celine October 7, 2008 at 1:56 am #

    cool new banner, Ash!

  8. mihl October 7, 2008 at 6:00 am #

    What a beautiful picture. I must try that tofu one day!

  9. Colleen October 7, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    Nice banner – makes me hungry for cookies.

    My husband and I make our meal list and grocery list every Saturday. Unfortunately, we don’t always stick to the meal list (things like class and cravings get in the way a lot). We do try to keep some “go to” meals on hand like sloppy joes or barbecue chicken sandwiches for those days we just don’t feel like cooking.

  10. Vegannifer October 7, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    I do like your new banner! Very nice!

    I don’t formally plan meals, but I usually have an idea of one or two dishes that I want to make during any given week. Most stuff is made from what I have on hand in my kitchen, though. Pasta dishes are always easy to improvise after a busy day.

Leave a Reply

