The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie?

22 Jul

I’m sure that all have you by now have read or have heard about David Liette’s article on the perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie by now as many of my fellow food bloggers have posted about their experiences with the directions and guidelines given in the article. It’s no secret that I love cookies, especially the classic Chocolate Chip Cookie, so of course I had to give Liette’s take on perfection a trial.

Instead of using the recipe the NYT provides (although it looks really good) I used the recipe I always use, the one that can be found in Vegan with a Vengeance. This time, I subbed a quarter of the sugar for brown sugar then proceeded to follow the three guidelines in the NYT article:

  • Chill the dough for 36 hours
  • Bake ’em big
  • Sprinkle the tops with sea salt

The Pefect Chocolate Chip Cookie?

The results?  Some damn good cookies.  These were soft, chewy (crispy edges though!  just like the article described!) with ooey-gooey chocolate and the sea salt?  Amazing!  Who would have thought that such a simple addition could take an already delicious cookie to a new height of delicious-ness?  I’d love to know what sort of cookies would have been resulted in if I had have tracked down those chocolate disks but the Ghiradelli chips I used were awesome anyway.  I’m also interested in trying the NYT recipe, vegan-style of course, instead of the VWAV recipe and see how they compare.  I’m also quite proud (and surprised) of myself that I let the cookie dough sit in the fridge for 36 whole hours and not eat any of it.  Ah, the things we do for perfection.

16 Responses to “The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie?”

  1. Katy July 22, 2008 at 9:05 pm #

    What an interesting article! Cookie dough would definitely not be safe in my kitchen for 36 hours!

  2. VeggieGirl July 22, 2008 at 9:38 pm #

    The sea salt is an intriguing addition to the cookies – yum!! Those definitely DO look like some damn good cookies :0)

  3. Cecilia July 22, 2008 at 10:03 pm #

    Oh my, that indeed looks like a perfect chocolate chip cookie to me! I might sprinkle mine with sea salt the next time I bake them!
    OOOh boy, the 36 hours waiting time is a torture – how did you managed to do it?!!

  4. Amy July 23, 2008 at 12:16 am #

    Oh YUM YUM YUM! Only problem is, I have absolutely no self control. I tried freezing that cookie dough a few times….I just ate it frozen!

  5. Bianca-Vegan Crunk July 23, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    I’ll have to try the salt and 36-hour thing! I love the VwaV Choc Chip Cookies! But I always have to add 1/4 cup soymilk to the recipe because I’m too impatient to let my margarine come to room temperature before mixing.

  6. Evan July 23, 2008 at 2:35 am #

    those look soo good.
    i’ve been putting off making good ol chocolate chip cookies for a while.
    i will soon now though!

  7. Mihl July 23, 2008 at 8:32 am #

    I didn’t know that there’s such a science behind chocolate chip cookies 🙂 Awesome picture by the way.

  8. Marlena July 23, 2008 at 10:24 am #

    I tried those cookies (the basic recipe from VWAV) the other day and something went horribly wrong. They didn’t spread at all in the oven, and while they were tasty, the edges weren’t crispy, and there was none of the chewiness I expect from a chocolate chip cookie. I tried adding more fat, but no dice. I used Earth Balance for the margarine, is that what you use? Your cookies look fabulous!

  9. veganhomemade July 23, 2008 at 11:41 am #

    Those do look really good! Any chocolate chip cookie is okay with me, really. But I think I’ll try these tips next time, the sea salt is really interesting!

  10. Russ July 23, 2008 at 5:43 pm #

    wow, i would never have thought of putting the salt shaker anywhere near the cookie factory – do they not taste a bit odd?!

  11. stumptownvegans July 23, 2008 at 8:26 pm #

    When I read that article I guess I quickly forgot it because I just made chocolate chip cookies and forgot to do the salt on top.

    Your cookies look awesome. You mentioned they were soft and chewy from freezing the dough. Do you think they were really softer than how you normally make them?

  12. Ashley July 23, 2008 at 10:11 pm #

    Thanks everyone!

    Marlena-I’m not sure what happened to your cookies, I always use Earth Balance. Like Bianca though, I also always end up adding soymilk to get the dough to a good consistency…maybe you could try that? Good luck!

    Russ-not at all! They don’t really taste salty, it just really enriches the chocolate aspect, it’s awesome, try it!

    stumptownvegans-I found them a lot softer, usually I find that the cookies crisp up a lot after they cool completely but not this time, they stayed wonderfully chewy.

  13. ruby red vegan July 23, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    Thank you so much for linking to the article! I actually have never seen it before — I sooo need to try it! Normally I just throw cookie batter together as quickly as I can just so I can gobble them up asap…but I have a newfound appreciation for the art of cookie perfection. Yay! Omg, your cookies look wonderful.

  14. Vivacious Vegan July 24, 2008 at 7:51 pm #

    That’s definitely some willpower you’ve got there girl! I wonder if the time in the fridge really matters. I’d like to make two batches (one after 36 hours and one that same day) and do a taste test.

  15. melisser July 24, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    I did something similar! I made the VWAV cookies & baked them off at various times. They totally got better, who knew?!

  16. Liz² July 26, 2008 at 7:34 am #

    awesome article, and those cookies look/sound insanely good!

Leave a Reply

