there will be s’mores

18 Jul

When my sister and I went vegetarian about four or so years ago, there was really only one thing we found ourselves longing for. When we were kids, our favourite after school snack was the S’more. Not a very labour intensive method was used, we just placed a marshmallow on a graham cracker, threw some chocolate chips on top and nuked in the microwave for a few seconds then-the best part-smooshing the melty chocolate and puffy marshmallow with another graham cracker.

Enter Sweet & Sara. The genius company behind the vegan marshmallow. I recently placed an order on vegan essentials and yesterday a box arrived for my at doorstep. These are what were nestled inside:

there will be s'mores

I was reallllly excited to try these and they did not disappoint, these were better than any marshmallow I’ve ever had in my life. These are some gourmet marshmallows, fluffy with a delectable hints of vanilla (and not that cheap vanilla taste. The good kind). I was a bit sceptical that these would not hold up for a s’more though…would they puff like a marshmallow should? Or would they fail miserably as so many vegan cheeses do? My province currently has a ban on any open fire (it’s really dry here, my neighbour’s well ran dry the other day) so I had to pass on any attempt to recreate the authentic campfire treat and take the microwave route. No matter, the s’more I made was just as I remembered, with gooey melty chocolate and marshmallow nestled between crunchy homemade graham crackers.

Sweet & Sara offer there own take on the vegan s’more which I ordered along with my marshmallows to sample.

peanut butter s'more

I tried the Peanut Butter S’more and it was really good. It reminded more of a moon pie (or whatever they’re called) rather than a s’more though and I don’t know if I’d purchase one again. I prefer my homemade s’mores, they’re a lot cheaper to make too!  All in all, I love these products and am kind wishing I had have splurged on the Coconut variety they also offer but oh well, I think that my summer is kind complete anyway with my vegan vanilla marshmallows.

sweet & sara's smores

16 Responses to “there will be s’mores”

  1. VeggieGirl July 18, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    I have those same vegan marshmallows in my pantry – they’re BEYOND amazing!!! Thank goodness for the return of s’mores to our lives, vegan style :0)

  2. vegyogini July 19, 2008 at 12:24 am #

    Oh, the coconut marshmallows are so much better than the vanilla variety! I’m not a fan of the pre-made S’mores, either.

  3. Ricki July 19, 2008 at 12:47 am #

    I had no idea they’d ship to Canada. . . now I must order some, too!

  4. Celine July 19, 2008 at 2:25 am #

    hooray! I’ve never tried them. yet.

  5. melisser July 19, 2008 at 5:02 am #

    Yum yum, I love S&S marshmallows. I found the S’mores to be best when heated in the oven! Bake until heated through & puffy = yum!

  6. BitterSweet July 19, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    These things are so amazing- I love them far more than I ever cared for regular marshmallows! I’ve never had their s’more pies, but they always look so good.

  7. Cecilia July 19, 2008 at 10:07 am #

    Oh man, STOP the tease!!!! I recently heard that Sweet&Sara products are available now in Aus – lets hope so …. YUMMMMMMM … and hooray for VEGAN marshies!!!

  8. Crazy Vegan Mom July 19, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    OOO, I love the coconut marshmallows best.

  9. a-k July 19, 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    that last picture is really really amazing…

  10. mel July 19, 2008 at 7:19 pm #

    Microwave that sucker for a few seconds and it’ll be the best thing you’ve ever put in your mouth.

  11. Katie July 19, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    Vegan s’mores? Yum! I didn’t know they existed 🙂

  12. Aly July 20, 2008 at 12:49 am #

    I do miss marshmallows by the campfire! These would be a perfect substitution; thank you, Sweet&Sara for giving us our childhood memories back!

  13. Mihl July 20, 2008 at 5:45 am #

    Oh yes!

  14. Animal-Friendly July 22, 2008 at 1:14 am #

    I LOVE the vanilla marshmallows (not a huge fan of coconut, so I haven’t tried those)! I have been very guilty of snacking on them at random times throughout the day and getting quite a sugar high….

  15. jessy July 22, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    homemade s’mores sound glorious! i have not tried these marshmellows yet – but it’s looking like i’m going to need to soon! mmmmmmmmmm!

  16. Pink Theory July 22, 2008 at 12:35 pm #

    I love those marshmallows and definitely will have to try those s’mores out soon.

Leave a Reply

