Maple Walnut Cookies

11 Jul

I should have made these last week. Maple is a fitting flavour to enjoy for Canada Day but whatever, I’m not regretting my decision to make Strawberry Shortcake.  Last night, I was craving cookies but was out of chocolate chips, peanut butter, oatmeal…all my usual ingredients that go in to a cookie.  But I had maple syrup (what good Canadian girl doesn’t?) and remembered a recipe in Vegan with a Vengeance that I’ve been meaning to bake since I got the book two years ago-Maple Walnut Cookies

Maple Walnut Cookie with Creamy Maple Frosting

I nixed most of the walnuts, (because well, I was getting low on walnuts) instead I just topped them with a walnut halve after drizzling them with Creamy Maple Frosting from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.  They turned out delicious, soft and chewy cookies with lots of maple flavour and the frosting was unbelievable, it was so thick and easy to work with.  I never have that much luck with frostings.  Ever.  I’m definitely trying out the maple cupcakes that accompany the frosting recipe one day.  Maybe for a more fitting time, the next time Canada needs celebrating?

24 Responses to “Maple Walnut Cookies”

  1. VeggieGirl July 11, 2008 at 11:42 am #

    I LOVE how you drizzled the frosting over those Maple Walnut Cookies – gorgeous!!

  2. Celine July 11, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    I think your frostings always look amazing, whatchoo talkin’ about?

  3. Katy July 11, 2008 at 2:20 pm #

    I’ve been meaning to try those cookies too! They look especially delicious with the frosting!

  4. Melisser July 11, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    Mmm! Yes, please!

  5. Corbet July 11, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    Oh yum! You’ve inspired me to make these for a potluck tomorrow! Great pic.

  6. Ahnah July 12, 2008 at 2:50 am #

    Those look so good!! I love the icing from VctotW and have been wanting to try the cookies.

  7. Liz² July 12, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    canada high five! don’t you love how it’s not insane expensive to use maple syrup around here? and also, the fact that you *iced* your cookies is just awesome. ^o^

  8. Erin July 12, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    Those are BEAUTIFUL cookies!! Yum!

  9. Cecilia July 13, 2008 at 5:06 am #

    one word – WOW – another note, do you do personal deliveries by any chance :0)

  10. destinyskitchen July 13, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    I think I’ll have a late Canada Day celebration now! I love the way the frosting squiggles over the entire cookie—YUM!

  11. veganhomemade July 14, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    Sounds pretty tasty!

  12. Ricki July 14, 2008 at 5:49 pm #

    Those are gorgeous cookies! I’ll have to save the recipe for NEXT Canada Day. . . 😉

  13. Bianca- Vegan Crunk July 14, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    The only thing that can make a cookie better is frosting! Thank god for Canada and all that wonderful maple syrup!

  14. twoveganboys July 15, 2008 at 3:29 pm #

    Wow. These look and sound delicious!

  15. meghan July 16, 2008 at 2:39 am #

    three words.
    oh hell yeah.

  16. Mihl July 16, 2008 at 12:44 pm #

    Wow, I think I have been staring at these for quite a while now. They look absolutely adorable!

  17. Ashley Nicole July 16, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    I can’t stop looking at the photo! What a delicious idea to top the cookie with maple frosting. They look so warm and soft and chewy, mmmm (if you can’t tell already, I’m obsessed with cookies)!

  18. Jarreau July 16, 2008 at 3:47 pm #

    Those cookies look amazing…what is the maple frosting made out of?

    -jjw

    http://www.izzitgreen.com

  19. Ashley July 18, 2008 at 8:05 am #

    Thanks everyone!

    Jarreau-the frosting’s slightly different than your average frosting as it uses soymilk powder instead of icing sugar, it’s reallllly good!

  20. Aly July 18, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    Oh wow, that picture has my stomach grumbling. I love maple! (Of course, I’m Canadian as well). I’d wash these down with a cold Canadian beer, of course.

  21. Sophie July 18, 2008 at 4:48 pm #

    We’d like to invite you to participate in our July berry recipe contest. All competitors will be placed on our blogroll, and the winner will receive a fun prize! Please email me, sophiekiblogger@gmail.com, if you’re interested. Feel free to check out our blog for more details. (Click on my name in the message header link to visit our blog. 🙂

  22. Taymer July 20, 2008 at 2:40 pm #

    Hi
    I have been meaning to try those marshmellows everysince
    Did you order them online?

    Tay
    http://barbadianvegan.blogspot.com/

  23. Ashley July 20, 2008 at 4:38 pm #

    Yep, I ordered them off of veganessentials.com, great store, shipping doesn’t take too long either!

  24. Jess July 23, 2008 at 5:34 pm #

    Yummmmy!!! I love maple, so the frosting sounds fabulous. Good to know it is soymilk powder. Also Jarreau, cool site 🙂

Leave a Reply

