clearly, mini-cakes are where it’s at

16 May

I love mini-cakes. Not only are the adorable beyond measure, they’re fun and incredibly simple to make. I’m not the biggest fan of decorating and frosting cakes, I love the idea of decorating cakes but once I break out the pastry bag, my enthusiasm fades. When the cake is smaller, the task of decorating it is not quite as great.

Mini-Carrot Cake

This is the Ginger-Coconut-Macadamia-Carrot Cake from Vegan with a Vengeance made with walnuts instead of the macadamia nuts and sans crystalized ginger as there are some people who are wary of an excess of ginger in this house. To bake this mini-cake, all I did was halve the recipe, and bake the batter four 4-inch round cake pans for 20-25 minutes. Then I frosted and filled it with a buttercream frosting flavoured with coconut extract and I was left with two tiny cakes to enjoy and share (or not).

 

15 Responses to “clearly, mini-cakes are where it’s at”

  1. VeggieGirl May 16, 2008 at 8:35 pm #

    Oh my goodness, could that mini Ginger-Coconut-Macadamia-Carrot Cake be ANY cuter?!?!?!?! Love it!!! And I like your rendition of the recipe, using walnuts and omitting the ginger – sounds delicious!

  2. Celine May 17, 2008 at 4:20 am #

    yeah, frosting bags are quite the turn-off for me too. who needs them when you can make your cakes look perfect the way you did?

  3. melisser May 17, 2008 at 4:50 am #

    OMG, so cute! I have a 5 inch pan I love to work with.

  4. Liz² May 17, 2008 at 8:08 am #

    mini cake high five! I definitely need to try quartering the vwav carrot cake, I’ve been longing to try it with no excuse to make it… until now. 😀

  5. Lovliebutterfly May 17, 2008 at 12:19 pm #

    oooohhh, that looks so yummy!

  6. ashley 79 May 18, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    Oh-so cute!! I’ve been saving up to buy a bunch of mini baking pans myself- I love mini cakes!

  7. vegan addict May 18, 2008 at 11:55 pm #

    Beautiful wee cake!

  8. ruby red vegan May 19, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    baking in miniature is just so fun! i haven’t tried mini cakes yet, though – what a great idea! especially because this vwav recipe always catches my eye, but usually i pass it up, thinking, “uh, no, i’m not going to bake a giant cake.”

  9. Bianca- Vegan Crunk May 19, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    Wow. It’s like a cupcake, but bigger…like a personal-sized cake! Such a cute idea!

  10. julieannef May 20, 2008 at 3:23 am #

    !!!!!

    cute

  11. lori-the pleasantly plump vegan May 20, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    too cute!

  12. coulditbeseitan May 20, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Yum! This reminds me of my favorite, hummingbird cake! Anything mini is where it’s at.

  13. catherine (FOOD SNOB) May 20, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    A miniature coconut-covered carrot cake sounds heavenly!!

    The only thing that would make it better would be MORE of them!! Hee-hee.

    P.S. Your brownies below look divide! I’m definitely in the “fudgy” brownie camp.

  14. peggy June 2, 2008 at 7:51 pm #

    That’s so cool! I definitely need to get myself a mini-cake pan. There’s something about a miniature cake that is so much cuter than a plain old cupcake 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mini-Carrot Cake | Vegan.com - May 17, 2008

    […] the chef wrote up a complete blog entry about her experience baking this. Spread the word: These icons link to social bookmarking sites […]

Leave a Reply

