Update!

14 May

I haven’t updated in awhile, sorry! I haven’t even been that busy, I think it was just a case of blogger’s block or something.

Anyways, what have I been up to lately?

I started a small garden! I planted Spring Onions, Basil, Cilantro, Mint and Chives, all of which, once they sprout, will be housed in pots on my deck (My yard is rather shady so I need them to be able to ‘follow’ the sun). I’ll post photos once they sprout. I’d like to grow some other vegetables aside from the onions, but for now I’m going to see how these turn out.

Speaking of sprouts, know what I’ve been loving lately? Sprouts! I bought a small bag of organic Spring Salad Mix Sprouts at the farmer’s market last weekend and they have been wonderful on my tomato sandwiches.  They’re so good for you too, especially broccoli sprouts which are full of antioxidants.  I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to give sprouts a chance.

I’ve been fighting off a cold this week and Veganomicon’s Creamy Tomato Soup has been ever so nourishing and comforting.  I blogged about it previously here.

Last night, my mother and I ate out at my favourite restaurant here in Halifax (which I’ve blogged about a couple times here before, ha ha). I got the Cajun Tofu dish (my favourite!) which is tofu smothered in a hot cajun style sauce served with brown rice and steamed kale with some sort of delicious sauce. My mother got a slice of Coconut-Cashew-Banana Pie which was so heavenly we got another slice to go, pictured below:

Coconut-Cashew-Banana Pie

That is all for now, I promise the next post will be sooner than this one was!

 

5 Responses to “Update!”

  1. VeggieGirl May 14, 2008 at 2:42 pm #

    Ash!!! Where have you been??? Haha, nice to see you posting again :0)

    I need to start my garden, but the rain has been TERRIBLE (I wish it would wait until AFTER I plant my garden, haha).

    I too love sprouts – I will that they wouldn’t get such a bad reputation for carrying e. coli and all that, since that RARELY happens!

    Hope that soup has completely cleared up your cold – sounds delish!

    I hope you saved a slice of that Coconut-Cashew-Banana Pie for me ;0)

  2. melisser May 14, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    How fun! I planted my 1st garden on Mom’s day & I’m super excited for my kale, tomatoes, onions, green & yellow beans, cilantro & basil!

  3. Celine May 14, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    I miss you when you post less here!!!

  4. Bianca- Vegan Crunk May 14, 2008 at 7:00 pm #

    I wish I could plant a garden…but every year, I kill everything I try to plant. I think I’m going to keep it simple this year…just a few herbs and that’s it. I feel so guilty when I kill plants, but I think I’m an over-waterer.

  5. ashley 79 May 16, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    I love this time of year because I also start thinking about starting my garden! It’s always a treat to watch the plants grow throughout summer.

    Sorry to hear about that cold… 😦 but I’m sure the soup helps a lot- I haven’t made that recipe yet, but since it’s from Vcon I’m sure it’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

