Mmm, nutrition.

23 Apr

If you skim through my blog, you’ll probably notice that there is a definite emphasis on the sweets.  I love sugar as much as the next girl but I swear that’s not all I eat!  I actually really really like simple and healthy food as well. 

Case in point:  Today we have featured my favourite type of smoothie and my favourite type of grain. 

Mean, Green, Fighting Machine*

Pictured here is my lunch today-a Green Smoothie.  I loooove green smoothies and I usually make an ol’ standby of mine: Soymilk, banana, orange juice, fresh pineapple and lots of kale.  Today I mixed it up ever so slightly and used vanilla hempmilk, 1/2 banana, fresh pineapple and kale.  Mmmm.  I did miss the orange juice though.  Whatever fruit’s in it, it has to have kale.  Always kale.

Quinoa Salad with Black Beans & Sweet Potato

 Next up we have my supper for tonight, Quinoa Salad with Black Beans & Sweet Potato. Sometimes, the best meals are the simplest ones and this recipe found on the ppk forums (Thanks damzlfly!) is no exception. Sweet Potatoes…black beans…lime…need I say more? It’s fast, easy to make, and a nutritional powerhouse that features my fave grain of all time, quinoa.

So yeah, just to repeat, I do so love healthy food!

16 Responses to “Mmm, nutrition.”

  1. Celine April 23, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    that kale smoothie? I just have to make it asap. and your pictures are kicking some major ass, Ash. LOVE IT!

  2. Celine April 23, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    how much is a lot of kale, btw?

  3. ashmacaroon April 23, 2008 at 4:58 pm #

    Hmmm, probably 4-5 leaves. I just always add it until I think it will look right, but yeah I think 4 is a good target (depends on the size of your kale too, the bunch I had today had rather smaller than usual leaves). When you make it, use orange juice! I always find it best and so refreshing with it.

    PS-Thanks! It’s all in the new lens!

  4. VeggieGirl April 23, 2008 at 5:33 pm #

    Girl, you rock – kale is a VeggieGirl obsession (as are smoothies – love green smoothies/juices, especially!); and that Quinoa Salad with Black Beans & Sweet Potatoes is drool-worthy!! Yum!!

  5. Lovliebutterfly April 23, 2008 at 6:07 pm #

    Wow! That smoothie sure looks refreshing! I agree, the best things are sometimes the simplest ones.

  6. BitterSweet April 23, 2008 at 10:06 pm #

    I’ve never actually tried a green smoothie before, but yours looks really good! Maybe it’s just because I often equate green with matcha… But hey, that could make a good addition too, right?

  7. Kristen's Raw April 24, 2008 at 4:12 am #

    I’m crazy for green smoothies myself…been adding tons of cinnamon to them lately. Oh, and quinoa is a superstar!

  8. The Vegan Countess April 24, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    Beautiful food and Beautiful photos!

  9. Wheeler's April 24, 2008 at 12:51 pm #

    I’ve never had kale in my smoothies … Hm … something I need to look into! I’m assuming the kale is what brings the green color to it?

  10. Melisser April 24, 2008 at 6:23 pm #

    I am dying to make that quinoa salad, but I don’t have sweet taters! doh.

  11. Erin April 24, 2008 at 6:38 pm #

    Mmm, I love green smoothies. You have reminded me I should drink more of them.

  12. ashley 79 April 24, 2008 at 8:44 pm #

    Darn! I just had a HUGE bunch of kale that I used up making some kale chips! Guess I’ll just have to get some more to make green smoothies!

    I also saw that quinoa with black beans and sweet potatoes and knew I had to make it! It looks soooo good and has some of my favorite ingredients in it!

  13. Samantha April 24, 2008 at 11:07 pm #

    I’m really beginning to like kale. I have yet to try it in smoothie form however. Yours looks so fresh and yummy!

  14. vegantickles April 25, 2008 at 5:03 am #

    I just started using kale in my green smoothies.
    I love it!
    Green smoothies Rock!!!

  15. Romina April 27, 2008 at 12:56 am #

    Ooh kale! I need to try that in my smoothie. I’m a green-smoothie-virgin!

  16. Bianca April 27, 2008 at 2:10 am #

    I love green smoothies too! Its one of the easiest ways for me to get my iron-rich greens.

Leave a Reply

