almost there

10 Apr

Whew! Almost done! I actually should be reviewing for a history exam I have later this afternoon but if I read one more word regarding british history, I will explode. After this exam, I have one final assignment to pass in on monday then my summer will begin!

Smoky Pumpkin Hummus

So what have I been up to lately? Well, if you judge by the lack of photographic evidence, not a whole lot! Aside from being addicted to vegan_foodblog, I have been cooking too! Last week, I whipped up a batch of Julie Hasson’s Smoky Pumpkin Hummus, shown above, which was quite delicious, smoky and such a pretty colour.

Burrito with Spicy Rice

I’ve probably blogged about this place before but it deserves to be reiterated throuhout this blog.  The Heartwood Bakery & Cafe on Quinpool is my favourite to eat out in Halifax.  It serves mostly organic and local food, most of which are vegan and all of which are vegetarian.  They have a huge variety of dishes and every one of their wonderful desserts are not only vegan but actually quite good for you.  After spending a long day studying, I needed nourishment and (as always when I think of eating out) I thought of Heartwood.  The dish you see above is Burrito with Spicy Rice which was the perfect fuel to combat end-of-semester-fatique.

So! Will you be seeing a lot of me in the coming weeks? I hope so but…there may be a lack of posts at the beginning because…I…sort of…well…broke the only lens I own! So until I get that replaced, you might not see a lot of me. I suppose I could always post sans photos but where’s the fun in that?

13 Responses to “almost there”

  1. Romina April 10, 2008 at 11:07 am #

    YAY! It’s almost summer!!

  2. Celine April 10, 2008 at 12:37 pm #

    the pics are always a plus, but we’ll take anything we can as long as we get to hear from you! 🙂

  3. VeggieGirl April 10, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    smoky pumpkin hummus??? are you kidding me??? that HAS to be the most divine and intriguing hummus-variety that I have EVER seen!!!

  4. VeggieGirl April 10, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    p.s. – YOU’RE IN THE HOME STRETCH WITH CLASSES!!! get excited :0D

  5. Erin April 10, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    Pumpkin hummus? I would have never thought of that combination in a millions years. Mmm, yours looks tasty *noms screen* Guess I will be off to the markets on Sunday to get some of that wild organic pumpkin I spied last time.

  6. melisser April 10, 2008 at 4:45 pm #

    I hope the final studies go well!

  7. Bianca- Vegan Crunk April 10, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    Good luck on the rest of finals! That hummus looks delish.

  8. BitterSweet April 10, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    Pumpkin hummus rocks, but I’ve never tried the smoky version- Sounds good! Best of luck on your exams. 🙂

  9. ruby red vegan April 10, 2008 at 9:27 pm #

    Oh no, no lens? Poo on that, especially since your pictures are so beautiful. You’ve got great photography skills; I love how you close in so near to the food. Mmm. That pumpkin hummus looks awesome; I can imagine it’s heavenly-tasting with the cumin. Did you put the hummus in a mug for the picture? So cute!

    I so wish I was in your place right now – I’d love for school to be over but I still have an entire month and 2 days left. Ugh.

  10. Samantha April 11, 2008 at 1:09 pm #

    Pumpkin hummus? YUM! It looks lovely! Good luck with finals and such!

  11. Wheeler April 11, 2008 at 5:53 pm #

    that hummus sounds delicious!! I wish I could enjoy it while being on summer vacation like you!

  12. ashley 79 April 11, 2008 at 8:36 pm #

    oooo- pumpkin hummus! I must look into this…..

    Good luck on your exams!

  13. veghead April 17, 2008 at 11:29 pm #

    You have noooo idea how freaking jealous i am that you’re almost in summer. rather, maybe you are in summer now. but i’m still just dying of jealousy here…

    looks good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

