Crisp!

25 Mar

Crisp!

I made this for dessert on Easter Sunday, my family loves crisps but my mom dislikes oats in crisps (say what??). I couldn’t find the traditional recipe that has served our family for years (all of my mom’s cookbooks got lost during kitchen renovations!) so a little searching led me to this recipe, which admittedly calls for oats but a little omitting and subbing led to the crisp similar to the one my family has loved.

Apple Crisp
Serves 5-6

4 granny smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/3 cup Earth Balance Margarine, softened

1. Place apples in a lightly greased 8 or 9 inch square baking dish (I actually used a pie plate and it worked fine).
2. Combine all brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl.
3. Cut in the margarine until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs (the mixture will be somewhat dry).
4. Sprinkle the crumble mixture atop the apples.
5. Bake in a preheated oven at 375F for 35 minutes.
6. Serve with your favourite soy ice cream!*

*I served it with So Good’s Creamy Vanilla soy ice cream which was my first time trying So Good’s ice cream. Really Good! By sadly, someone took my carton out of the freezer, placing it on top of the refridgerator, forgetting about it for the rest of the day. When I arrived home, it was well melted. I’m sure it will be fine though, the texture will be off I imagine.

6 Responses to “Crisp!”

  1. Mihl March 25, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    This is another food I have never tried. (Maybe because I live over the ocean and crisps are unknown to me and my fellow countrywomen.) It looks good!
    I am sorry about the ice cream.

  2. Melisser March 25, 2008 at 2:27 pm #

    Say what?! indeed!
    Regardless, I love a good crisp! I like some roasted, chopped hazelnuts in my crumb topping sometimes as well.

  3. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan March 25, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    this is probably my favorite dessert

  4. ashley 79 March 25, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    I’ve never even thought about apple crisp without oats before, but I definitely want to try that recipe!

    Such a shame about your ice cream……but I don’t know if melting it could even ruin such good ice cream!

  5. VeggieGirl March 26, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    oh my goodness gracious, I haven’t had crisp in YEARS!! looks too luscious for words.

    so sorry about the ice cream though!

  6. Bianca March 27, 2008 at 2:31 pm #

    How can your mom not like oats in crisps?! At least, that gave you a challenge. It looks like you succeeded in creating something delicious and oat-free!

Leave a Reply

