Archive | 9:04 am

Crisp!

25 Mar

Crisp!

I made this for dessert on Easter Sunday, my family loves crisps but my mom dislikes oats in crisps (say what??). I couldn’t find the traditional recipe that has served our family for years (all of my mom’s cookbooks got lost during kitchen renovations!) so a little searching led me to this recipe, which admittedly calls for oats but a little omitting and subbing led to the crisp similar to the one my family has loved.

Apple Crisp
Serves 5-6

4 granny smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/3 cup Earth Balance Margarine, softened

1. Place apples in a lightly greased 8 or 9 inch square baking dish (I actually used a pie plate and it worked fine).
2. Combine all brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl.
3. Cut in the margarine until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs (the mixture will be somewhat dry).
4. Sprinkle the crumble mixture atop the apples.
5. Bake in a preheated oven at 375F for 35 minutes.
6. Serve with your favourite soy ice cream!*

*I served it with So Good’s Creamy Vanilla soy ice cream which was my first time trying So Good’s ice cream. Really Good! By sadly, someone took my carton out of the freezer, placing it on top of the refridgerator, forgetting about it for the rest of the day. When I arrived home, it was well melted. I’m sure it will be fine though, the texture will be off I imagine.