What I’ve been up to…

29 Feb

Even though this week I went on a few excursions to dine, I was cooking as well of course.  A couple weeks ago I was in Fredericton visiting my sister and she took me to the farmer’s market up there. Fredericton’s market is a bit smaller than the one I’m used to here in Halifax but it’s packed with a variety of interesting vendors-including the Cupcake Lady! The Cupcake Lady (I think that’s what she’s called, that’s what my sister and her friend call her) sells amazing looking cupcakes with cute names (like the Red Stiletto Cupcake my sister got which was of course, a Red Velvet cake). Sadly, they are not vegan cupcakes so I could not partake in cupcake eating. But my sister’s friend (the same one who introduced me to Mookies!) convinced me to sample Samosas which were amazing and left me with a craving the following days. Last weekend, I decided to make the Potato-Edamame Samosas from Vegan with a Vengeance, subbing green peas for the edamame. These were so good, baked instead of fried and made me enough to freeze for when the hankering for samosas returns.

Samosas!

It’s becoming a tradition for me to bake something (I think it’s always been cookies so far) every Thursday night. There are two reasons for this: 1) I usually have the fridays off as I have no classes. 2)Lost! I have to bake something for my favourite show of course plus my sister arrived home for her break so somethinghad to be baked. Last night it was Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. I was out of raisins plus I live with a person who despises raisins in cookies so the Oatmeal Raisin Cookies from Veganomicon became these cookies. I downplayed the spices a bit-only using 1 tsp of cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg and omitted the allspice entirely. These cookies were amazing, chewy and not an over-the-top sweet kind of cookie.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

…And I’m off to tackle a few papers and assignments. 5 more weeks to go!

11 Responses to “What I’ve been up to…”

  1. Celine February 29, 2008 at 10:38 am #

    I’ve been wanting to make samosas for so long, and I think yours made it so that I have no choice but to do so now! whew. that was a long sentence…which might not even make sense. 5 more weeks? you can do eeeeeeeet!

  2. Romina February 29, 2008 at 11:04 am #

    Oh boy those samosas look yummy! Interesting choice of edamame as your filler. =)

  3. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan February 29, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    those samosas are wonderful and something i keep forgetting to make

  4. Melisser February 29, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    Mmm, samosas! My husband loves them & I rarely make them. What a do make though is cookies! hehe.

  5. Bianca February 29, 2008 at 6:46 pm #

    I’ve been wanting to try those samosas. The breading part looks so delish! All nice and flaky…yum. I love it when baked versions of things turn out tastier than their fried counterparts.

  6. vegetation February 29, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    Mmmm I really need to try those samosas. Yours look SO good, I’m always a little intimidated, they seem like a lot of work.

    And your cookies, well, lets just say, I’m on my way 😛 I don’t like raisins in cookies either so have always skipped over those one’s. Now I’ll have to try them all, only with chocolate chips!

  7. Cody March 1, 2008 at 1:25 am #

    Next time I make the samosas, I’ll have to make enough to freeze. Sometimes I just want a nice hot TV snack, but don’t feel like going through all the trouble of making them fresh.

    I’ve been craving them for more than a week, too.

  8. Priscilla March 1, 2008 at 8:34 pm #

    Ooh, that cookie looks deelicous! The cupcake you made for Valentines Day…yummy! Those rice krispy bars look great too! Just ravin’ about your food!

  9. ashmacaroon March 1, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    Ok everyone make these samosas! You will not regret it, they’re amazing and not difficult to make at all (this coming from a girl who has anxiety about rolling out dough) and sooo rewarding. Thank you all for the lovely comments!

  10. VeggieGirl March 2, 2008 at 10:57 am #

    Samosas and cookies…. Ash, you’re amazing!! Look at how PERFECT those two delicacies turned out (not that I’m surprised, since you’re an amazing cook/baker – but they’re still astonishing!). Hang in there for those last 5 weeks of classes and assignments!!

  11. Anardana March 4, 2008 at 1:14 am #

    Those samosas look incredible! I must make them!

Leave a Reply

