Dio Mio International Cafe

25 Feb

I don’t eat out a lot.  Even by vegan standards I don’t eat out a lot.  Every time I eat out, I feel that it was an opportunity to cook lost.  Yeah, I’m pathetic like that.

But today after spending the afternoon at the library studying and working on papers, I simply did not feel like going all the way home and cook something.  Weird, I know.  Luckily, I live in Halifax and we have quite the selection of vegan offerings (well, it’s no Portland but it’s not too bad).  One place I go from time to time is Dio Mio Gelato International Cafe on Spring Garden Road (it’s kind of hidden-off of Spring Garden go down Brenton Street and there’s the entrance).  This is a cafe that has a great variety of delicious vegan and vegetarian food-veggie burgers, samosas, paninis, soy shakes and a HUGE case of vegan sorbetto (Chocolate…pomegranate…and other flavours I can’t recall).  Now, I’ve never actually tried the gelato before but I’ve heard great things about it.  So today I grabbed the Indonesian Burger with Peanut Sauce and Banana Maple Flax Cookie to go, brought it home, plated it and gave them a photo shoot (that’s probably another reason I don’t eat out much, restaurants never seem to offer the best lighting for pictures).

Indonesian Burger with Peanut Sauce

This burger was outstanding. It had a great, firm texture with a nice, though subtle, heat. The burger was accompanied with lettuce, sprouts, tomato and slathered with a wonderful peanut sauce. I’ve had their other two burgers before (Sun-dried Tomato and Hazlenut with Mango Chutney) and I think this one is my favourite. I’d definitely get it again.

Banana-Maple-Flax Cookie

Now the cookie…although it was a very sizeable cookie, it was disappointing. It was a very cakey cookie (I don’t really care for cookies of this texture) and didn’t have a whole lot of flavour. But kudos to Dio Mio for offering vegan desserts, I still have promising hope for the sorbetto which I’ll be trying once the warm weather hits.

Dio Mio is one of my favourite places to eat in Halifax so if you’re ever in the city, pay them a visit! And let me know how the sorbetto is!

Update:  I returned to Dio Mio later this week and tried their Tofu with Tahini Sauce Wrap and it was delicious!  It’s been on my mind ever since, definitely a new eating-out staple.

7 Responses to “Dio Mio International Cafe”

  1. Romina February 25, 2008 at 9:11 pm #

    I’m with you, I actually dislike eating out. I don’t trust others touching my food, and cooking is just way too fun (and so much cheaper!)

    What I would give to have vegan options when going out…. it sounds like you had a very tasty meal!

  2. Melisser February 26, 2008 at 6:19 am #

    I rarely go out to eat as well! Maybe it’s a vegan blogger thing? hehe.

  3. VeggieGirl February 26, 2008 at 8:00 pm #

    Same here – actually, the most recent time that I ate out was when I did that blog post about Vegiterranean!! That was back in early January!! I prefer to create my own meals – it’s more fun, in my opinion :0)

    Wow, an Indonesian burger with peanut sauce?? Sounds rather intriguing!! Too bad that the Banana Maple Flax cookie was a disappointment – that sounded quite delicious as well (Come on now, Ash, you can bake that cookie and make it fabulous!!)

  4. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan February 26, 2008 at 9:07 pm #

    that place sounds awesome. i love gelato!

  5. ashmacaroon February 29, 2008 at 9:20 am #

    Ha ha, it looks like I’m not alone at this avoidance of eating out thing. It must be because you’re all wonderful chefs yourselves!

    VeggieGirl-Guess what I got at the grocery store last night? Bunches and bunches of bananas! They were on sale, ha ha, so I may be trying my hands at these banana cookies.

  6. zeenes March 3, 2008 at 2:30 pm #

    An Indonesian burger with peanut sauce!! That sounds soooo good. I may have to try to create something like that at home.

    I don’t eat out very often either. Good luck trying to find much vegan fare in Minneapolis/St. Paul…we’ve got about three places where we go, and that’s it.

  7. B.A.D. March 9, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    ok, please tell me by now, you have eaten the gelato, right?

    If not… we need to fix this. It is soo good.

Leave a Reply

