almost there…

8 Feb

One more week until my break…just one more week(!)…I’ll be writing a few papers and a take-home exam during it though but whatever it’s still a break.

This week I made Lemony Chickpea Lentil Soup from Eat, Drink & be Vegan. This was soo good, the perfect comfort soup for cold weather. I couldn’t really taste the lemon but to be honest I’m not that huge of a lemon fan so that was fine by me. What I really loved about this is the texture, it’s a soup you can sip but it is by no means watered down, it’s totally a soup of substance. Look at my new dishes! I love them, especially since they were 50% off. Last weekend I got quite a few good sales on various dishes (which you’ll be no doubt seeing in my photos soon).

Lemony Chickpea Lentil Soup

These are quite possibly my favourite cookies ever. Big Gigantoid Crunchy Peanut Butter-Oatmeal Cookies (with chocolate!) from Vegan with a Vengeance. They’re perfect, so peanut butter-y and not to mention they are HUGE. But I don’t let that stop me from eating a few in one sitting. If you haven’t made these already MAKE THEM.

Big Gigantoid Crunchy Peanut Butter-Oatmeal Cookies

Have a good weekend everyone!

9 Responses to “almost there…”

  1. Romina February 8, 2008 at 10:41 am #

    I can’t wait, I have a break in a week too! It’s so soon since Christmas break, but it’s much needed.

    Mmm. That soup looks delicious. I have yet to try it, but it looks as good as it sounds! As do those cookies. I must buy that cookbook so I can make them (on your recommendation of course!) =)

  2. vegyogini February 8, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    That soup looks amazing! It’s right up my alley, so I’ll have to pull out ED&BV and make it. 🙂 The cookies look great, too.

  3. VeggieGirl February 9, 2008 at 7:58 pm #

    hang in there, Ash!! as you said, you have just one more week until break (I do too – wish you, Romina, and I could get together, since we’ll all be off on holiday!!) – the soup and ESPECIALLY those Big Gigantoid Crunchy Peanut Butter-Oatmeal Cookies (should have made them with carob – haha, you knew I’d say that!) look PHENOMENAL!!

  4. lori- the pleasantly plump vegan February 9, 2008 at 10:47 pm #

    i didn’t have luck with those cookies. i should try them again.

  5. Anardana February 10, 2008 at 2:27 am #

    I made that soup too! I think it was the best soup I’ve ever had.

  6. ashmacaroon February 10, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    Romina-Have an awesome break! And definitely put VWAV on your wish list, sooo many good recipes in this one.

    VeggieGirl-If you were to come up to Halifax, I would definitely make these cookies for you (I’d even go all out and use carob chips of course! ;-))! Have a great break!

    Thanks for all the lovely comments, everyone!

  7. Anna/Village Vegan February 10, 2008 at 12:11 pm #

    One more week…you can do it, you can do it!!

    Those cookies and the soup look YUMMY. Mmm. I can’t believe I haven’t made the cookies yet…I should really take care of that.

  8. Bianca February 12, 2008 at 7:02 pm #

    Nice dishes!!! Especially the plate the cookies are on…and the cookies look quite nice too!

  9. Vegan_Noodle February 13, 2008 at 5:09 pm #

    You’ve almost made it! (or maybe you’re on break right now) And those cookies can help you get through anything. (they’re my fave too)

Leave a Reply

