Week in Review

1 Feb

Whew, another week past…only two more weeks until my winter break and I am in dire need of a vacation already.

I’m not sure why but I was craving curry. I was not even sure if I even liked curry but for some compelling reason I decided to give one a try. So I found a recipe in Veganomicon that sounded intriquing. It called for cauliflower and parsnips. I’ve always ingnored cauliflower. You rarely hear anyone praising it and a certain junior high school health class had really turned me off of cauliflower. Similarly with parsnips, growing up there were never any parsnips on the dinner table and I’ve always assumed that they weren’t the vegetable for me. But I was craving curry. And Veganomicon has yet to fail me. So I made this Red Lentil-Cauliflower Curry and it was good, it was damn good. It has just the right amount of heat and the cauliflower and parsnips really make it particularly texture wise.

Red Lentil-Cauliflower Curry

After a way too long hiatus, Lost finally returned last night! Such an occasion calls for something sugary and Coconut Heaven Cupcakes from Vegan with a Vengeance with their tropical island essence would be perfect. Aren’t they pretty in their Martha Stewart Crafts cupcake liners I scored at Michael’s on clearance?

Coconut Heaven Cupcakes

And finally, tonight I made another dish out of VeganomiconChickpeas Romesco. This was really good as well, the sauce was wonderful with it’s hint of roasted red pepper and its creaminess complimented the texture of the chickpeas quite well.

Chickpeas Romanesco

So that was my week, have you all have a great weekend!

9 Responses to “Week in Review”

  1. sheree February 1, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    I was so excited to see LOST back on TV. We taped it and will watch it this weekend. I love curry and have not made if for quite some time. Guess I should put that on the menu for next week. Yours looks fantastic!!

  2. Romina February 1, 2008 at 9:16 pm #

    Curry seems to be very popular lately. Maybe it’s something about the season? It’s becoming one of my favorite foods, especially as comfort food!

    I have a sticky on both the Chickpeas Romanesco and Curry in V’con, and your pictures make me want to make them ASAP!

  3. lori- the pleasantly plump vegan February 2, 2008 at 11:32 am #

    i made those cupcakes a while back and they were so sweet i could only eat one.
    the curry dish and chickpea dish looks like winners to my family!

  4. the vegan blog tracker February 3, 2008 at 6:13 am #

    Curry rocks. I’ve never actually made it, though… maybe I’ll try making some thing week. Yours sounded damn good.

  5. Megan the Vegan February 3, 2008 at 11:52 am #

    I’m one of those few people that praise cauliflower. I love the taste of it raw. But, my boyfriend isn’t a big fan, so we don’t eat it very often cause it’s tough for me to eat a whole head by myself.

    Those are some great looking dishes. I get curry cravings too…next time I’ll turn to this recipe.

  6. Jackie Vetter February 3, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    I also have been craving curry and have never been a big fan, but it seems my tastebuds are a changin’. 🙂

    This looks delicious. I received Veganomicon for christmas and have made some of the recipes from it. They have been delicious. I am so thankful that there are people out there that come up with these delightful creations for me!

  7. VeggieGirl February 3, 2008 at 9:24 pm #

    Ash, I need a vacation too – we’re shall we go, to get away from the stress?? ;0)

    mmm, the chickpeas romanesco is my favorite dish in your post, for sure – yum!! and those cupcakes?? too cute!! love the Martha Stewart liners, haha :0D

  8. jeremy February 6, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    Oh man that last dish is making me hungry. Time to check out this “veganomicon”.

  9. Bianca February 7, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    I’ll have to try those cupcakes. Coconut is sounding REALLY good right now.

Leave a Reply

