C is for Couscous and Cookies

27 Jan

I seem to be only updating this blog on a weekly basis, sorry about that!  School…yeah I know that’s always my excuse but unless you want to see the picture of the rice bowl I’ve been making for supper and lunch nearly every night (I eat this dish so often yet I’ve never photographed it, ha) or want to read about my fascinating musings on Foucault and other contemporary social theorists, I won’t be updating that much.

So here’s some of the very few interesting things I’ve made as of late.  First up we have Tomato Couscous with Capers from Veganomicon.  This was such a quick and delicious meal, it’s one of those dishes that are so simple that they’re outstanding.  That’s the Basic Broiled Tofu from Veganomicon in the back there, I make it quite often, it’s so fast to make and tasty.

Tomato Couscous with Capers

Last night (hellz yeah! I have the most awesome Saturday nights with my baking and studying and whatnot) I made the “Super Charge Me” Cookies from Eat, Drink & be Vegan that Liz blogged about not too long ago.  These are really good, like surprisingly really good considering there’s no sugar or white flour, I didn’t have chips of any kind (not even chocolate!) so I made them with just raisins.  Next time, I think I’ll add some nuts to give them a little more crunch.  My class schedule is rather cruel this semester and I don’t really have time for a proper lunch but I think these cookies would be perfect to tide (or is the expression tie?  I can’t remember!) me over during classes.

4 Responses to “C is for Couscous and Cookies”

  1. Celine January 28, 2008 at 4:25 am #

    can’t help you with the tide/tie expression, but your cookies look enticing, that’s for sure!
    don’t overwork yourself…

  2. lori- the pleasantly plump vegan January 28, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    looks good

  3. VeggieGirl January 28, 2008 at 8:02 pm #

    no need to apologize, Ash – schoolwork is taking up so much of my time, I’m going insane!! ahh!! haha, on a brighter (and more delicious) note, the couscous and those cookies (love ’em!!) look divine.

  4. Romina January 29, 2008 at 12:23 pm #

    Mmm. I really want to make that couscous with capers! But my capers are so old I need to get some new ones.

    I see so many good pictures of Super Charge Me cookies, I need to try those out too! Looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

