Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake. Or Pie. Or Pah.

20 Jan

(The title comes from a discussion with my sister.  I frequently converse with her about what I’m baking via MSN Messenger and I was telling her about this Cookie Pie which I suppose is really more of a cake but whatever and she said that she can’t say pie without a Southern accent ever since we watched Waitress a few weeks ago.)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

 I have had a cookie cake once before in my life.  It was years ago, I was probably six.  But I still remember how awesome it was and have always meant to try another one.  So I finally baked one this evening.  I used Kittee’s Blondie Recipe using a container of soy yogurt for the egg replacer and leaving out the nuts (not that I have anything against them, I live with people who do).  I threw the dough into a greased 9 inch round cake pan and baked it for 40 minutes (next time I’d bake it for a bit longer, it was a tad underbaked not that it was a bad thing though.  I like gooey).  It was fantastic!  This is a most wonderful cookie recipe (I also ate more than a fair share of the dough) and the Cookie Cake was the delightful, chewy wonder that has been stuck to my memory for all these years.

11 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake. Or Pie. Or Pah.”

  1. Carolann January 21, 2008 at 4:29 am #

    Oh my gosh! This is amazing looking! I love cookie cakes but haven’t had one in such a long time. Whenever I see one at the store I think of how good they used to taste, but haven’t ventured into making a vegan one! Thanks so much!

  2. Brianne January 21, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    That looks SO yummy!!! And did you know that Jan 22nd is “National Blondie Day?”
    Like we really need a reason? 🙂

  3. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan January 21, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    yum

  4. VeggieGirl January 22, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    Ash, when the photograph of your cookie-cake/-pie fully loaded, my jaw dropped – it’s absolutely SPECTACULAR and tempting!! ahh!!

  5. ashmacaroon January 23, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    Thanks, Carolann! I hope you get to relive the cookie cake experience soon!

    Brianne-omg most awesome day ever! I’m glad I got to celebrate accordingly.

    Lori and VeggieGirl-Thanks! You know…I could use some help eating it…;-)

  6. heather January 26, 2008 at 10:44 pm #

    I say “pie” with a southern accent after seeing Waitress, too! Everyone makes fun of me.

  7. Debra Walter January 30, 2008 at 8:10 pm #

    can you please post the recipe. It would be a great superbowl dessert!
    Thanks

  8. ashmacaroon January 30, 2008 at 9:05 pm #

    Hey Debra, the link to the recipe’s in the post. Have fun on Sunday!

  9. Vegan_Noodle February 13, 2008 at 5:11 pm #

    Loved that movie! And I love that pah!! 🙂

  10. John Spuler March 21, 2008 at 8:37 pm #

    Hello,
    The link to the Blondies recipe… does it just not work for me?

  11. ashmacaroon March 21, 2008 at 8:46 pm #

    Hey John! Thanks for letting me know, the link mysteriously disappeared in my code, weird! It should be working now.

Leave a Reply

