soup is good food

11 Jan

Sigh.  Class resumed this past Monday and I’m still in break mode.  I’m really not ready to commit myself to the steadily growing list of readings, assignments and whatnot.  But of course I already have, because I am one of those neurotic-ly dedicated students.  So I’m back to making meals that will last most or all of the week.  This week I have been dining on Creamy Tomato Soup from Veganomicon.  This is some stellar soup, it’s so deliciously creamy and tasty with the interesting touch of sun-dried tomatoes.

Take that, Campbell's!

Besides being excellent fare for students, I have discovered that it is also suitable food for those under the weather.  Yup, rather early in the semester this time around I think I may have picked up some sort of bug as I woke this morning rather exhausted and very ache-y.  Urgh. 

7 Responses to “soup is good food”

  1. vegyogini January 11, 2008 at 7:45 pm #

    I absolutely love soup and those I’ve tried from Veganomicon so far have been fantastic! I’m sorry you’re not feeling well, though. 😦 Try V-Con’s Chickpea Noodle Soup. The miso should help you recover quickly. Get well soon!

  2. trina January 11, 2008 at 8:12 pm #

    That is an inviting bowl of soup! I hope you feel better soon!

  3. VeggieGirl January 11, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    ahh, I start classes this coming Monday – I feel your pain!! I want my month-long holiday from classes to be extended!! :0)

    as I said on your flickr account, Campbell’s has NOTHING on you and your soup!! yum!!

  4. Alisa January 14, 2008 at 1:05 am #

    Oh what a bummer! I hope you feel better.

    If that soup is half as good as it looks, then it must be awesome!

  5. Cody January 14, 2008 at 5:06 pm #

    Your tomato soup looks like it turned out quite a bit better than mine. Mine tasted wonderful, but the texture was pretty… ech. Perhaps it’s time to invest in a submersion blender.

    Sorry you’re feeling under the weather. That seems to be going around a lot lately.

  6. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan January 14, 2008 at 10:13 pm #

    ah, back to school. i remember that feeling of excitement and dread at the same time. the soup looks wonderful!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Update! « love like a vegan - May 14, 2008

    […] I’ve been fighting off a cold this week and Veganomicon’s Creamy Tomato Soup has been ever so nourishing and comforting.  I blogged about it previously here. […]

Leave a Reply

