Solace in Pudding

3 Jan

After receiving the news that Blueprint, a beloved magazine I read will soon be no more, I needed comfort food.  (ok, maybe it was just an excuse to bake) Pudding is such a food. I have cherished memories of pudding…chocolate…vanilla…and butterscotch (note to self, must make Butterscotch pudding soon). Rather than making one of these old standbys, I wanted something more substantial and decided to try a recipe in Eat, Drink and be Vegan I’ve been meaning to make.  This Banana-Pecan (actually I was without pecans and used almonds) Rice Pudding Pie utilizes brown rice, coconut milk anf bananas to make a decadent yet not-bad-for-you pudding. 

You know that smell that wafts through the mall, that sickenly sweet yet attractive aroma of Cinnabon?  This pudding smells like that!  But you know, better.  And it was oh-so-creamy.

So maybe this year hasn’t been treating you the best and you’re looking to indulge in a little comfort without breaking your resolutions.  I think this healthier pudding may just be the answer.

8 Responses to “Solace in Pudding”

  1. BitterSweet January 3, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    Aw, sorry to hear about the magazine going under… But food always helps, right? At least I like to think so. This pudding looks wonderful too, so I hope that it eased the pain even a tiny bit!

  2. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan January 4, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    beautiful! this sounds like something my hubby would love.

  3. VeggieGirl January 4, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    WHAT?!??!?! I JUST FINISHED READING THE LATEST ISSUE OF BLUEPRINT!!! HOW DID I NOT KNOW THAT THE PUBLICATION WILL BE DISCONTINUED?!?!?! **grabs a tissue and begins to cry**

    On a MUCH brighter note, the rice-pudding looks divine – I made a similar version about a month ago; posted the recipe :0)

  4. ashmacaroon January 4, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    We’ll get through this together, Liz! Apparently, the blog and the website will still be up and running but their January/February issue will their final publication. Sigh. And I was just going to finally become a subscriber. I need to find a replacement, Domino’s okay but I liked the more diy style of Blueprint. I’m still in need of comfort food so I’ll have to try your version of rice pudding, I’m definitely hooked on the stuff.

  5. Alisa January 5, 2008 at 1:53 am #

    Oh I haven’t tried that recipe yet. It looks so good.

  6. VeggieGirl January 6, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    Domino has some great ideas, but I agree with you about Blueprint’s diy style being much better. Sometimes the magazine Real Simple has decent ideas as well. We’ll figure out a replacement soon, hopefully :0)

  7. Carolann January 9, 2008 at 10:13 pm #

    BLUEPRINT IN CANCELED?! NOOOO!!!!! Now I’m going to need some comfort food! Looks amazing! I’ve been wanting to try the pudding!

  8. Samantha January 15, 2008 at 1:15 pm #

    I am a huge fan of pudding. I have yet to undertake the task of making it myself, but you may have convinced me to try!

Leave a Reply

