Looking for a Last-Minute Gift?

22 Dec

Taking a break from the sugar high (well, almost) with an idea that I know my fellow bloggers would be able to put to use (with their endless supply of delicious recipes)…

I was stuck on what to give my youngest sister for Christmas this year.  I had already bought some clothes I knew she had wanted to give to her but it lacked a personal touch.  She has just started to get into baking, specifically cupcakes.  Vegan cupcakes.  So inspired by this I made her a Cupcake recipe booklet.  It not only contains recipe cards for various cupcakes but personal anecdotes accompanying each recipe (like the time I made her Pina Colada Cupcakes and accidentally melted her birthday cake is mentioned in the Pina Colada Cupcakes recipe). 

I happened to find the card completely by chance (isn’t it cute?), I wasn’t even looking for a cupcake card, just one with a pretty design, but when I saw this I knew it would be perfect.  I even (again without looking) was able to find a spatula and apron that completely matched the colours in the card.

I hope that this simple idea might be of assistance to you in these last frenzied hours before the big day.  This was a lot of fun to make, a gift that I would definitely make again, it’s fun to personalize recipes and give a gift that not only will definitely make the recepient smile (I know my sister found the melting birthday cake incident quite humorous as I have yet to live that one down) but keeps on giving (who doesn’t need a recipe for vegan sugary treats?).

7 Responses to “Looking for a Last-Minute Gift?”

  1. locusbooks December 23, 2007 at 2:05 am #

    That’s a brilliant gift idea! This year I bought zines for Christmas presents, but maybe next year I’ll make my own. Love the fact that it’s vegan too!

    L.

  2. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan December 23, 2007 at 3:07 am #

    totally sweet! you rock.

  3. Vegan_Noodle December 23, 2007 at 5:51 pm #

    Cute idea! I love the card, how cool that you found it. Hope your sis doesn’t read your blog to spoil the surprise!

  4. ashmacaroon December 23, 2007 at 7:55 pm #

    Thanks all!

    Vegan_Noodle-Alas, my family does not read my blog although I beg them to! Although at times like this, I’m glad that they don’t. 😉

  5. Tami December 24, 2007 at 12:05 pm #

    You are so awesome! My favorite gift ever is a booklet from my mom with all our old family cookie recipes and stories. She called it “Love Can Be a Cookie”……I’m sure your sister will flip with happiness.

  6. B.A.D. December 24, 2007 at 12:06 pm #

    Thats so cute!

  7. ashmacaroon December 25, 2007 at 12:09 am #

    Tami-That is a sweet gift! It must be so awesome to have in your hands a family history like that. I love the title as well!

    B.A.D-Thanks!

Leave a Reply

