Baking with Grandma

14 Dec

Yesterday I spent the afternoon with my grandmother and baked a batch of Christmas cookies with her.  Okay, my grandmother is not a woman who cooks so I made them.  I make these Sugar Cookies that Nowhey over on the ppk forums posted awhile back. These are the best Sugar Cookies ever. I make them quite frequently, in fact I think for every holiday since Nowhey posted the recipe…Christmas…Valentine’s Day…Easter.  I look for any excuse to bake these and nothing says Christmas like cookies shaped as christmas trees, snowflakes, stars and gingerbread (sugar cookie?) people.

Sugar Cookies

2/3 cup shortening
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla

egg replacer = to 1 egg
4 teaspoons soymilk
2 cups sifted all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and lightly grease cookie sheets.

1.  Cream the shortening, sugar and vanilla extract together thoroughly in a large bowl.
2.  Add the egg replacer (I have used a few different ones and I find that my preferred ingredient is 1/4 cup soy yogurt) and beat until light and fluffy.
3.  Stir in soymilk.
4.  In a separate bowl sift the flour, baking powder and salt together.
5.  Add the dry mix to the wet mix, blending until combined. 
6.  Chill dough for at least an hour.
7.  Roll out dough to a 1/8 inch thickness and cut out desired shapes.
8.  Bake cookies for 6 to 8 minutes, depending on the size.  Cool on pan slightly then remove from sheets. 
These cookies were approved by my grandmother (she ate at least 5 that afternoon) and the rest of my family are huge fans as well and the cookies will most likely be making more appearances this holiday season.

4 Responses to “Baking with Grandma”

  1. VeggieGirl December 15, 2007 at 10:57 am #

    I miss my grandmother so much (she passed away when I was 6 years old), but I especially think of her when I bake (since she liked baking) – reading about you making these lovely sugar cookies with your grandmother just sparked more memories of the time I had with my grandmother :0)

  2. ashmacaroon December 16, 2007 at 8:51 am #

    I’m so sorry VeggieGirl, losing a grandparent at such a young age is difficult. I’ve only just begun to appreciate the role my grandmother plays in my life, she was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s earlier this year so I’m trying to spend as much time with her as possible while I have the oppurtunity.

  3. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan December 17, 2007 at 1:42 am #

    some of my best memories are baking with my grammie

  4. Vegan_Noodle December 20, 2007 at 4:29 pm #

    Oh goodie. My mom wants to make and decorate sugar cookies on Monday and was asking if I had a vegan recipe. This one sounds like a winner!

Leave a Reply

