(Sigh of Relief)

6 Dec

I’m finished! 

Now my mind is free to focus on more important things…such as holiday baking.  I love baking for Christmas and have so many ideas that it’s a bit hard to narrow my to-bake list down.  There’s so many cookies I want to try…shortbread…gingerbread…those cute little spritz cookies…thumb-print…linzer and I could go on but I’m sure you know your cookies as well as I do.  But I decided to begin my holiday baking last night after completing my final assignment. 

My grandmother adores the Sparkled Ginger Cookies from Vegan with a Vengeance so I baked her a batch to deliver to her this evening.  I love these cookies, perfect for a crisp day (or bitter cold as I’m apt to complain if the temperature dips below zero).  I only  had blackstrap molasses and was a bit worried about what the outcome would be but after a quick check with the ppk I went ahead and baked them.  I find them a bit more molasses-y (my father disagreed and said they were more ginger-y but I believe I am more correct) but still as tasty as always.

So it begins!  What are your favourite holiday recipes? 

6 Responses to “(Sigh of Relief)”

  1. Liz² December 7, 2007 at 2:28 am #

    :O

    you are seriously giving me cookie cravings with those! they’re impeccable, and sparkled ginger are my favourite. though if I had to pick something else holiday related to bake… I kind of have a soft spot for good old sugar cookies. Mostly the decorating part. ^_^

  2. VeggieGirl December 7, 2007 at 9:52 pm #

    yay, congratulations for being done!! now it’s time to have FUN and bake, which I see you’re already doing :0) glad your grandmother likes the Sparkled Ginger Cookies!! She has good taste, haha.

    My favorite holiday recipes are gingerbread with maple frosting, and lots of other decadent vegan goodies :0)

  3. Chocolatecoveredvegan December 9, 2007 at 10:27 pm #

    Mmmm Christmas cookies :o)… yours look perfect!

  4. B.A.D. December 10, 2007 at 2:29 pm #

    lord, I need me some cookies.
    Sugar cookies are way up there, cinnamon apple cupcakes, banana bread and other holiday loafs. Apple crisps, ginger bread etc.

    Although this year I may have to forgo the x-mas norms in favour of trying all the recipes that have come out during my kitchen absence, hot temp wings here I come!

  5. ashmacaroon December 10, 2007 at 2:50 pm #

    Liz-I love decorating cookies too, I always get tired before long though then do a half-ass job on the rest!

    Veggiegirl-gingerbread with MAPLE frosting? That sounds heavenly.

    B_A_D-Yay on having a kitchen again! You probably don’t need to be told this but you will love the wings…I should make them again soon although Pete’s has been out of tempeh for awhile now. Sad.

  6. Appifanie December 20, 2007 at 1:32 pm #

    sparkled ginger cookies are one of my favs, of course! and my mom used to make the spritz cookies (in green, tree form, of course) and i had a neighbor who made these lemony stick cookies with ends dipped in chocolate and sprinkles.

Leave a Reply

