Mookies!

11 Nov

This past long weekend (well long weekend for most, unlike all other universities, mine did not give us monday off), my sister came home and brought her friend to stay with us.  This afternoon her friend introduced me to a wonderful creation…

Mookies!

What are mookies you ask?  They’re simply cookies baked inside a paper-lined muffin pan, the cookies bake up poofy and shortly before they’re done you stick a chocolate bar piece atop each mookie then bake for a tiny bit longer to melt the chocolate.  I used the Chocolate Chip Cookies from Vegan with a Vengeance which is a recipe I’ve used many times before and I’m not sure why but they taste even better in Mookie form!  I think it’s the chewy texture you get.  For the chocolate bar, I used a chopped up Peanut Chew.  Oh, and take off the liners before you serve so you can get the classy-looking ridges.

I just think these are the cutest things ever and my brain is swarming with variations!

15 Responses to “Mookies!”

  1. BitterSweet November 11, 2007 at 6:35 pm #

    What a great idea, I’ll have to try this new technique out some time. They sure look amazing!

  2. Celine November 12, 2007 at 1:16 am #

    yum!

  3. Mihl November 12, 2007 at 10:39 am #

    mmmm, looks really yummy!

  4. ashmacaroon November 12, 2007 at 11:21 am #

    Definitely give them a try, Bittersweet! The texture is amazing, and people (including myself) are so impressed with them, my family (and again, myself) couldn’t stop oohing and ahhing.

  5. VeggieGirl November 12, 2007 at 4:15 pm #

    I’ll take some mookies, please!! thank you!! :0D

  6. ashmacaroon November 12, 2007 at 5:04 pm #

    You’re too late! They too went fast, VeggieGirl! 😉

  7. Hilary November 12, 2007 at 6:06 pm #

    how cute and creative. I think I’ll give these a try soon 🙂

  8. cherie November 12, 2007 at 8:25 pm #

    Those are very cute!!!

  9. Alisa November 12, 2007 at 8:27 pm #

    These are definitely going on my “to bake” list! Thank you for the fabulous idea!

  10. Melisser November 13, 2007 at 6:19 am #

    MOOKIES?! First of all, they look great & 2nd, I HAVE to make them because my husband’s nickname was Mooky, which has evolved to Mooks.

  11. ashmacaroon November 13, 2007 at 12:18 pm #

    Yay! The mookies are totally becoming cult-like!

    Melisser-that is too cute! You definitely have to give them a try!

  12. Vegan_Noodle November 13, 2007 at 1:35 pm #

    A wonderful idea! Yes, the possibilities are endless…

  13. vegyogini November 13, 2007 at 8:51 pm #

    Cool idea!

  14. Cassie Young November 16, 2007 at 7:33 pm #

    How cute are those!! They look pretty yummy too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I’ve been up to… « love like a vegan - February 29, 2008

    […] not partake in cupcake eating. But my sister’s friend (the same one who introduced me to Mookies!) convinced me to sample Samosas which were amazing and left me with a craving the following days. […]

Leave a Reply

