Sheese!

27 Sep

Yesterday after class, I stopped in to Pete’s Frootique, a local grocery store here in Halifax and after picking up some local produce (which included a pumpkin!) what should I just happen to see as I walked past the cheese cases? Sheese!  I was shocked.  Sheese here in Halifax?!  I didn’t even know it was avaliable anywhere in Canada yet.  So of course, I had to try it.  Maybe it was just curiousity or more likely the sweltering heat we experienced yesterday affecting my rationality, but I dished out $7.49 for a block of the Medium Cheddar style.

 When I got home, I just had to try it.  I was suspicious though…my first and last experience with commercial vegan cheese was just horrible, ugh I can still remember the revolting texture (slimy) and smell (garbage).  But after opening the container of Sheese I was pleasantly surprised, the smell was cheddar, not garbage-like at all!  And the texture was firm and a tiny bit crumbly.  So all that was left was the taste test, I sandwiched a slice between two crackers (this by the way was my all time favourite snack as a child) and took a bite.  And it was perfect!  It didn’t taste exactly like cheese but damn is it ever close!  It was delicious, and I wasn’t regretting the price tag anymore.

I’m really excited to try more uses for it but to be honest I’m not sure for what.  I don’t remember what I used to use cheddar for besides eating it with crackers!  I remember Bittersweet had great success in baking with it in Cheddar Scones so I might try making cheddar biscuits or croissants (I doubt I’ll have time to make croissants though but the ones at the Farmer’s Market always look so good!).

9 Responses to “Sheese!”

  1. Vegan_Noodle September 27, 2007 at 11:56 am #

    I wonder if it would melt well? A grilled cheese sandwich sounds good to me….

  2. Mihl September 27, 2007 at 12:12 pm #

    Thank you for the link to the scones! I must admit that I don’t like sheese that much but still have some and didn’t know what to do with it. I had a look at the recipe and think it’s worth trying it.

  3. Brownbird Rudy Relic September 27, 2007 at 3:18 pm #

    I can’t wait until this stuff comes to the states, its gotten such praise. I’m gearing up!

  4. katbot September 27, 2007 at 7:10 pm #

    oh wow, you’re in halifax! i didn’t know that.. i’m in montreal.

    i had ordered sheese from vegan essentials and didn’t like it and it made the boyfriend sick. apparently, on the vegan freak forums, it has a tendency to turn a weird pink and they all think it’s.. freaky.

    i’ve tried follow your heart vegan cheese and though others claim that it melts, i was never able to get it to do so… oh well.

  5. VeggieGirl September 27, 2007 at 10:22 pm #

    I love using vegan “cheese” for grilled “cheese” sandwiches, mini english-muffin pizzas, or in pasta dishes such as baked ziti – the sheese certainly sounds enticing!

  6. Lori- pleasantly plump vegan September 27, 2007 at 10:36 pm #

    i have been wanting to try this. pre-vegan days, i was know for paying that kind of money for cheese. i’m glad you had a positive experience with it and you have inspired me to try it! we miss cheese and crackers!

  7. ashmacaroon September 28, 2007 at 9:30 am #

    Vegan_Noodle-I haven’t tried melting it yet, I’ll have to give it a go, thanks!

    Mihl-Aw, no love for sheese? I hope the scones win you over!

    Brownbird Rudy Relic-I hope you get to try it soon! I adore it.

    katbot-awesome! A fellow Canadian! 🙂

    VeggieGirl-English Muffin Pizzas! I forgot about those, they were totally my go-to meal years ago.

    Lori-Yay! I hope you like it as much as I do!

  8. melisser October 3, 2007 at 3:11 am #

    Yum yum. I have the Sharp & Smoked & have been eating them between crackers with chunks of the seitan o’ greatness. I crumble the blue on salads!

  9. Judi December 3, 2007 at 6:17 pm #

    Glad you like Sheese!
    For more ideas and recipes check out our website http://www.skyranch.ca/content/RECIPES/5

Leave a Reply

