Puffins!

23 Aug

Have you ever had Puffins? I’ve been meaning to try them for quite awhile. I have eyeing them at my local Health Food Store but the price always scared me away. A few months ago, they finally arrived at the supermarket for a bargain price. I haven’t been eating cereal too much in the morning lately, I prefer my oatmeal as I have control over what ingredients will go into it (like sugar for example, I don’t like sugar in the morning) but yesterday I finally broke down and bought a box of Puffins of the Cinnamon variety. Despite the possible drawbacks of cereal of the boxed variety, I do love cereal so I decided to have a bowl for dessert last night.

 

These were pretty delicious, crispy, not too sweet and full of cinnamon-y goodness. And they made a perfect dessert (as I said, I love cereal, it’s a delicacy to me), and light!  Afterwards, my stomach didn’t feel as if it was running in slow motion (hmmm, that’s an odd way to explain over-eating, isn’t it?).

Benji even approved of them!  After playing with one for awhile, he deemed it acceptable to his discerning palate.  I tried in vain to get a picture of him with it but damnit this dog is hard to photograph!  Anyone have any tips on how to get a good picture of animals?  (None of the animals in my house are particularly photogenic, Benji used to be when he was a puppy, I have so many cute baby pics of him)

Back to Puffins, poking around on their site, I discovered that there is more than the two varieties the stores around me carry-like, ahem ahem, Peanut Butter!  I need to try this!  Even though, it could prove to be very, very dangerous to have in my cupboards.  And the company, Barbara’s Bakery seems to be a company with morals!  They support conservation projects and check out their Adopt-A-Puffin project.

So, I am definitely not regretting my breakdown in my “I’m not buying cereal anymore” belief, it tastes great and I’m helping a delightful little bird-even though techinically I’m not cheating because I’m eating it as a dessert. So there.

9 Responses to “Puffins!”

  1. Celine August 23, 2007 at 11:18 am #

    I’m a fan of the cinnamon ones, but not the PB ones, for some odd reason.

  2. Hilary August 23, 2007 at 2:25 pm #

    i’ve never had puffins, but they sound like a perfect sweet cereal.

  3. VeggieGirl August 23, 2007 at 9:19 pm #

    oh my goodness you HAVE to try the peanut butter puffins – they are very tasty!! I looove the cinnamon ones as well. they’re both excellent!!

  4. amey August 24, 2007 at 4:17 am #

    oh yeah, I like me some puffins for dessert. I know just what you mean about cereal… I had rice krispies for dessert last night. 🙂

  5. ashmacaroon August 24, 2007 at 10:09 am #

    Not the PB, Celine? That’s disappointing to hear but hmmm Veggie Girl seems to love them, so I guess I’ll have to try them myself! (if we ever get them here, grumble grumble)

    Hilary-Try them! They’re sorta like Cinnamon Toast Crunch but better. There’s no aftershock of omgsugaromg.

    Mmmm, rice crispies! They’re like the ultimate nostalgic comfort food ever.

    I had another bowl again for dessert last night and discovered puffins + blueberries =bff.

  6. kittee August 25, 2007 at 10:32 am #

    I love Puffins. But really, I love all Barbara’s cereals. So Good!

    xo
    kittee

  7. Hilary August 25, 2007 at 4:48 pm #

    so i bought a box today! but sadly, there was no cinnamon flavor available! so i settled for original. i know what i’ll be having for breakfast tomorrow, or maybe dessert tonight? 🙂

  8. ashmacaroon August 25, 2007 at 9:48 pm #

    Yay for cereal for dessert! Original’s next for me, often I like “plain” cereal more because it’s fun to mix it up with different add-ins and such.

  9. Sarena September 21, 2007 at 5:44 pm #

    I have never tried these before. I have been hesitant because I have never heard any feedback on them. I too love oatmeal in the morning! I am like you and eat cereal or oatmeal as a dessert too! I love how it fills you up without feeling like you need to run laps immediately after eating it!

Leave a Reply

