Scalloped Potatoes

14 Aug

My sister is extremely fussy when it comes to food.  Ask her what vegetables she’ll eat and she’ll list off maybe 4 or 5.  (and she’s vegetarian!)  You’d think being twins would make her share my general openess to all kinds of food.  But somehow, it doesn’t.

However, I am determined to make her food that she will eat. (and like!) So I asked her what some of her favourite meals were back at university. One of the few she listed were scalloped potatoes. I remembered in Vive le Vegan, Dreena mentioned how her mother would serve scalloped potatoes to appease her family. I decided that her recipe would be a very promising attempt. (Though I had to get rid of the onions as my sister loathes them)

And it worked! Not only did my sister love them, I loved them and the rest of the family did as well. Now, I’ve never had scalloped potatoes before but I can tell you these were creamy and delicious. I’m going to use this recipe as a base for the many future scalloped potatoes that will be at our dinner table. (i.e. need to get rid of the rosemary after discovering my mother has a dislike for the spice)

3 Responses to “Scalloped Potatoes”

  1. Celine August 15, 2007 at 12:48 am #

    looks delicious! another win for Dreena. 😀

  2. Mihl August 15, 2007 at 3:53 pm #

    Ha ha, i hear you about your sister! Mine is the same and she’s a vegetarian, too. When we were in Barcelona she would say stuff like: “No, I don’t eat apples because…., I don’t eat grapes because….” etc. But I am quite sure my sister would eat your potaoes as well!

  3. Laura Faye August 15, 2007 at 8:05 pm #

    Ooh, I have Vive le Vegan, but I’ve never noticed that recipe. It looks great! I’ll have to try it.

Leave a Reply

