Blueberry Muffins

12 Aug

aveggieventure2007freshfromthefarmersmarket_125.gif

Yesterday I went to the farmer’s market, and I scored fresh, organic blueberries.  I also managed to finally find Whole Wheat Pastry Flour at the market, something I’ve never even seen in real life before.  So, what to make with my awesome finds?  Blueberry Muffins of course!

Awhile back, AmyArgh over on the ppk posted about these gorgeous muffins and I just had to make them for breakfast this morning. I altered the recipe a bit-used whole wheat pastry flour, added 1 tsp of vanilla extract, and reduced the sugar a teensy bit as I was using sweetened soy milk. The results were perfect, mine didn’t rise quite as beautifully as AmyArgh’s did but I suspect that was because of the whole wheat pastry flour but whatever, they still tasted amazing. (omg, the crispyness of the crumb topping)

Here’s the recipe, just in case your computer is like mine when it comes to opening new links. (or doing anything for that matter)

AmyArgh’s Blueberry Muffins

In a large bowl combine:

1.5 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder

Then mix in:

1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 ENER-G eggs
1/3 cup unsweetened soy milk

Mix it all together, and then fold in 1 cup frozen fruit (if you use fresh fruit, add about a TBS of water, otherwise they will be too dry) of your choice. I used blueberries, but I’m thinking I’m going to make a peach muffin version of these later! The batter is going to look very thick, almost like a cookie dough–but it works, I promise!

Spoon this into lined muffin tins, and then in a smaller bowl with a fork, mix:

1/4 cup Earth Balance
3 TBS sugar
3 TBS slivered almonds
2 TBS flour

Sprinkle the mix over the muffins and pop in into a 400 degree preheated oven for 25 minutes.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Blueberry Muffins”

  1. Celine August 12, 2007 at 12:45 pm #

    I still have to try these. yours came out beautifully!

  2. VeggieGirl August 12, 2007 at 9:40 pm #

    I too just purchased some gorgeous organic blueberries – these muffins look fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

