Fried Rice and Vegan Shopping in Halifax

4 Aug

Yesterday, my copy of Don’t Eat off the Sidewalk arrived in the mail. All of the recipes sound delicious and I needed something to make for lunch at work today. So I made the Fried Rice and it did not disappoint, it made a wonderful meal and it was so simple to prepare.

I’ve been vegan for about a year and a half now and one of the areas where I struggled to veganize are products in the make-up department.  They just seemed to be impossible to locate in my city. Until, that is, yesterday.  ATTN:  Vegans of Halifax.  On a recent shopping excursion I was able to find two (that’s right, TWO) stores that were carrying Beauty Without Cruelty Cosmetics. Biscuit (if you haven’t been in lately, go! They’ve recently renovated and it’s huge now-they even have a tea section! And an even bigger selection of the awesome clothing) on Argyle St. was carrying BWC foundations ($12) and nail polish ($9). They were on clearance though with no plans to restock, however the staff said they were looking at possible plans to carry an Australian vegan, organic line in the future. (anyone know what brand that would be?) Pete’s Frootique on Dresden Row now have an area dedicated to healthier lines of cosmetics and they were carrying BWC mascara (much to my delight), liquid eyeliner (again, this made me very happy) and nail polish.

Anddd on the first day I wore my new mascara, a woman at work told me that she wished she had my eyelashes. Cruelty-free and compliment-inducing, sweet.

4 Responses to “Fried Rice and Vegan Shopping in Halifax”

  1. Katie August 5, 2007 at 6:12 am #

    I’m glad you liked it!

  2. Celine August 5, 2007 at 11:11 am #

    the only makeup I can wear and not mess up is eyeliner. woopwoopwoop!

  3. B.A.D. October 27, 2007 at 10:58 pm #

    Wait… wait… for reals? :plans shopping trip:

    p.s. hi :waves:

  4. ashmacaroon October 28, 2007 at 9:54 am #

    The last time I checked they’re all still there too! Pete’s Frootique has more stock though, how I love that grocery store, I could spend hours there.

Leave a Reply

