PB&J Swirl Loaf and Hummus Quinoa Casserole

31 Jul

Yesterday, I baked Celine’s PB&J Swirl Loaf-a recipe for her upcoming zine.  OMG.  This bread is to die for.  My sister loved it very much as well, her exact words were that it tasted “like the good ol’ days”.

Awhile ago, a dish caught my eye on my aim is true and last night I finally decided to try it.  Vicki’s Hummus and Quinoa Casserole is a recipe in Vive le Vegan and Amber posted her modified version of it.  (Thanks, Amber!)  I modified it a bit further to suit ingredients I had on hand. I used eggplant instead of summer squash, and added mushrooms and yellow pepper. This turned out really good, I loved all the different flavours.  I’d definitely make it again and I’m thinking it would be a great dish to play around with, using whatever vegetables you need to get rid of in the fridge.  This is actually the first time I’ve ever cooked with quinoa and it definitely won’t be the last, I love this grain.

4 Responses to “PB&J Swirl Loaf and Hummus Quinoa Casserole”

  1. VeggieGirl July 31, 2007 at 7:37 pm #

    PB&J is yet ANOTHER perfect combination (as is AB&J – almond butter, of course) – that swirl loaf is heavenly!!

  2. Celine August 1, 2007 at 8:08 am #

    lordy,lordy, Ash. it looks beyond gorgeous! special congrats on how wonderful the bread came out, you rule.

  3. Celine August 1, 2007 at 8:12 am #

    ps: I re-posted it on havezine, hope it’s still ok. 🙂

  4. ashmacaroon August 1, 2007 at 12:47 pm #

    veggiegirl-I hear ya on the AB&J, those always help me through a too long study session.

    Celine-thank YOU for this wonderful recipe! (And of course it’s ok to use the pic) 🙂

Leave a Reply

