Review: Abba Hair Care Products

12 Jul

Last night I ventured over to a new shopping/business complex that opened up across the harbour, Dartmouth Crossing. I didn’t expect to be impressed but to be honest I was impressed. It’s designed to look like a village (with uber awesome street lamps and everything) and it has lots of stores coming-both big and small names. And a huge movie theatre. Yeah, it’s a total tourist trap but whatever, it’s cute.

One of the stores I went into was a salon that sold a ton of beauty products. I went in there to see if they had anything vegan. I quickly scanned the shelves looking for brands that I’ve heard of. Sigh. Nothing. I made a comment to my mom regarding how hard it is find vegan products. “What about the shampoo over there that says 100% vegan on it?” she replied. I had walked right by a sign that said vegan! Crazy. And there were multiple shelves of Abba Hair Care Products. I’ve never heard of the brand before and of course I had to try it.

On their website, Abba claims that their products are always:

  • 100% Vegan
  • Sulfate Free, DEA Free
  • Free of Synthetic Dyes
  • Eco-Sensitive Salon Formulas
  • Cruelty Free

After a lengthy process of choosing which shampoo and condition I should purchase, I finally decided on the Creme-Moist Shampoo and the Thickening Conditioner.

crm_mst_lg.jpg
Creme-Moist Shampoo
After arriving home, I looked at the bottle of shampoo again and noticed that it was for colour treated hair!  Oops.  I’m sure it won’t matter that my hair’s not dyed though.  The main reason I was attracted to this particular shampoo was it’s wonderful scent!  It’s Cherry Bark, Berry & Sweet Almond Essences smell heavenly.  I could gush on and on about how wonderful it smells, it’s just that good.  So, enough about that smell, how does it actually work?  I lathered my hair up with a dab of it and it was nice, I didn’t need to use a lot of it either.  It rinsed perfectly as well.  Now time to condition.

thick_cond_lg.jpg
Thickening Conditioner
My hair is always in desperate need of volume and the recent humidity we’ve been experiencing does not help!  So, I was very curious to see if this conditioner could do anything for my hair.  At first, I was bracing myself for a disappointment because well, compared to the shampoo, it didn’t smell very nice.  It smelled fine but it wasn’t amazing.  So again, I lathered my hair all up but this time waited 1 minute like the bottle told me to.  On rinsing, omg, even though it was still soaked my hair felt so silky and soft! 

Final Verdict
After styling my hair, I could definitely see an improvement, you know how your hair feels after you hair dresser washes it?  Oh yeah, my hair felt like that.  My hair did see an increase in volume and a definite improvement in texture.  I would definitely purchase Abba products again ( I really want to try the straightening balm), even if just for the smell of the shampoo, ha ha.

Leave a Reply

